PDA

View Full Version : Giant Slayers?

BlackViper
25-03-2008, 16:24
Ok, I've been collecting dwarfs for many, many years now. Until recently re-starting gaming I'd never seen the point of troll slayers. The slayer skill never struck me as being useful in a game where most high-toughness creatures can avoid slow dwarfs - that is until recently. I realised the first time that I used them, that their beauty was in their unbreakable-ness, especially now that they're cheaper in the new army book (don't quote me on that - I don't have either to hand).

But... That's not what this question is about. Who out there bothers paying for the giantslayer upgrade? You get the increased WS and S that would go with being a longbeard, Hammerer or Ironbreaker... and you get an extra attack... But is this really worth an extra 15 points? You would never field a whole unit of these fellas would you?

Do people use a whole unit? A mixed unit? A single leader? Does anyone recon Giantslayers are worth the points? Have I missed the point?

Necromancer2
25-03-2008, 16:28
You would never really ever make a whole unit of them.. Most people mix.

weareinalotoftroublebeale
25-03-2008, 16:39
Slayers are well worth it. If you play the refused flank tactic the slayers will come in handy for only 11 points a unit and the fact they are unbreakable.

I would take 3 to 4 giantslayers and surprise the oppenent when you attack back cause they all count as champion I think which mean that they can only be taken out if you specifically direct your attack on them.

I sometimes take a unit of 35 or 40 but that's because I play 4k+ usually.

Thanks,

Beale

Shamfrit
25-03-2008, 16:52
A unit of ten pure Giant Slayers is an awesome sight to behold.

Try using them at that number, makes shooting less damaging for certain.

BlackViper
25-03-2008, 16:52
Ok, so as I thought there might not be a whole unit of them.