PDA

View Full Version : Standards and flank charges



Deacon Bane
26-03-2008, 13:05
Had this happen, in a game last night. Charged in the flank, and had my Unit Standard Bearer in the center of my front rank. My opponent said that I do not recieve +1 CR because my standard was not in the fighting rank. I read it as he had to be in the front rank. Who is correct?
I did a search, and could not find a similiar posting.

Atrahasis
26-03-2008, 13:17
Well, the rules say front rank, so I'd say the front rank.

Festus
26-03-2008, 13:20
Hi

Yes, it helps to read the BRB ;). Both give *front rank*, BRB, p.80 and BRB, p.38.

Festus

EvC
26-03-2008, 13:47
Yeah, never trust what your opponents say on things like what matters in the front rank. I generally have to show my opponents the rules on standards working when flanked or characters only being able to challenge if they're actually fighting in about 1/3 of my games.

Milgram
26-03-2008, 14:41
wow, you should start playing opponents, not victims. ;)

EvC
26-03-2008, 14:56
Well typically it's my troops being hit in the flank when I need to point out my standard still works, or their troops being hit in the flank/ rear when I need to point out their characters can't challenge (what a coincidence that they incorrectly think the thing that benefits them the most every time). I'm just a victim of coicumstance, honest ;)

Deacon Bane
26-03-2008, 16:40
Yes if the SB is in the front rank I get the bonus. That is the way I have always played it, his argument was that since he charged in the flank, that was now the front rank. :confused:. Glad I was doing it correctly.

Greyfire
26-03-2008, 17:46
Well, playing his way would mean that the new "front rank" is engaged so the other two non-engaged sides would be the "flanks". Being unengaged means you'd get your rank bonus back. Normally my Empire troops would be glad to trade the +1 banners bonus for the +3 rank bonus. I wonder why he didn't follow through with his thinking. :rolleyes:

-=- Steve

warlord hack'a
26-03-2008, 17:53
case closed, next! ;-)

theunwantedbeing
26-03-2008, 18:15
Indeed, so long as the standard bearer (or battle standard bearer for that matter) is in the front rank of the unit they get the bonus.

Spirit
26-03-2008, 19:09
That really was just to boost your post count wasn't it...

Atrahasis
26-03-2008, 19:28
Perhaps. This certainly was.