PDA

View Full Version : Tactica: Herohammeror

Sir_Lunchalot
29-03-2008, 05:59
I propose a nice little thread for those of us who love to max out our hero choices. Now I'm no expert tactician, so let's have some good advice guys!

We'll start by defining herohammer: Herohammer is any army built with the maximum number of characters allowed. IMO, all armies are good at it to some degree, just differently. for example, my Tzeentch chaos army is good at it because that Lord on a dragon, flanked by a pair of aspiring champions, can fight their way through mostly anything, if I maneuvre it right. Dogs of War also do herohammer very well because they can max out their character choices for under 400 points in a 2k game.

We can split herohammer armies into three categories: strong, moderate and weak. Strong Herohammer armies are armies like Chaos, Vampires, and such, which use the characters as the main killyness of the army. In these armies you are relying on your characters to provide a significant number of kills, and in some cases, the majority of kills.

Moderate Herohammer armies are armies like High elves or Wood Elves, where you can expect your heroes to do a lot, but they won't form the core of your fighting force.

Weak Herohammer armies are armies like Skaven or Empire. In these armies, heroes will never be the main fighting force, but are good for a completely different reason: they're cheap! you've selected your army, and you've got 90 poitns left over. why not buy a hero with armor and shield? these are the armies where you can easily afford to max out heroes without detracting too much from your model count.

of course we also need to divide this into magic and fighty and mixed ...

Your thoughts?

DoomedToRepeatIt
29-03-2008, 17:05
I'd actually push the new HE into the "Strong category." At 2,000 points, you can have two dragons. There's no other army that can cram two big beasties that size into that size list.