PDA

View Full Version : Staff of Damnation



Necrotyr18
01-04-2008, 23:32
I have come across a question after reading the VC book, along with everyone else.

Anyway my question comes after reading the Staff of Damnation which states, "Friendly Undead models within 12" of the bearer and in close combat each make a single attack."

Now the question spawns from the Corpse Cart. The single attack the item lets you take could be interpretted two ways:

1. The corpse cart makes one single attack in close combat.


OR

2. The corpse cart makes one 2D6 attacks in close combat.

I can see reasoning behind both but what is the correct interpretation?

Thanks in advance.

SuperBeast
01-04-2008, 23:35
It gets 1 attack.

Ghouls, for example, have 2 attacks, but could only make 1 attack under Staff of Damnation.

The fact that the corpse cart has a random attack characteristic doesn't change this.

Nurgling Chieftain
01-04-2008, 23:49
1 =/= 2d6.

treben1234
02-04-2008, 02:16
Combind with spear skeletons to attack the gaint enemy crab's weak point to do massive damage. This of course did take place in Ancent Japan.

Only down side is it will cost you 399.00 Dollars!:mad:

Spirit
02-04-2008, 19:10
Combind with spear skeletons to attack the gaint enemy crab's weak point to do massive damage. This of course did take place in Ancent Japan.

Only down side is it will cost you 399.00 Dollars!:mad:

W.T.F?

And on the topic, i'd like to think it gets 2d6 attacks, but i doubt it very much. Just use it on skeleton spears like everyone else. Lol.

Oberon
02-04-2008, 19:12
Like nurgling chieftain so nicely put it already, 2d6 attacks is not 1 attack, it is always atleast 2 attacks, and 2>1.

Reinnon
02-04-2008, 19:33
Combind with spear skeletons to attack the gaint enemy crab's weak point to do massive damage. This of course did take place in Ancent Japan.

Only down side is it will cost you 399.00 Dollars!:mad:

being random is so last week.

i would say that the corpse cart would make a single attack, as in one attack - as it strikes me that 2d6 attacks is not a single attack.

thats how i read it anyway

SuperBeast
02-04-2008, 23:09
I'd also like to know why the CC would get 2D6 attacks when other 1+ attack models only get 1?

Spirit
03-04-2008, 02:21
It gets 1 attack.

Ghouls, for example, have 2 attacks, but could only make 1 attack under Staff of Damnation.

The fact that the corpse cart has a random attack characteristic doesn't change this.


I'd also like to know why the CC would get 2D6 attacks when other 1+ attack models only get 1?

Sorry but aren't these the same opinion, worded (very slightly) differently?

][nquist0r
03-04-2008, 06:43
Unfortuanately while adding one attack is doubling most creatures attacks, it falls a little short of doubling 2d6 attacks (by about 6 on average I'd say.) If the ability said 'doubles attacks'youd have an excellent case. lol