PDA

View Full Version : I'm a Blood Bowl Noob

Desert Rat
03-04-2008, 04:26
Looking through the rules and team rosters and ability to use models I have, I am thinking of a Norse,Lizardmen, or Empire team. Can you give me some of the pro's and con's from actual games that I might not get from reading the rule book.

Thanks in advance.

Tennboy
03-04-2008, 13:36
If I was you starting out in BB, I would go with a human roster. They are the most well rounded roster in the Book, LRB4, or LRB5.

their Pros: They have the starting skills to do anything with decent armor to stand their and swap licks. In more than one league, my humans versatility proved to be the deciding factor, because I had the positionals and the skills to switch my game plan that played to my opponents weakness. i.e. when i played bash teams, I pushed the pace with my running and passing game. When I played elfs and skaven, I'd grind them into the ground using bash tactics.

The teams that gave me the most trouble were Lizards (until I got rid of most of the skinks) and D. Elfs with a good coach (because they are as versatile as the humans, just not for a new coach)

Cons: Catchers running away with all the SPP, but I normally only ever have 2 on the roster. And normally I have them stop scoring TD's when they become Blodging, side steping, Pass Blocking Safeties.

Desert Rat
03-04-2008, 23:27
How about a Norse team? I know that the "Humans" are the base line, but I would like to hear more about the Norse.

Darkson
04-04-2008, 11:24
Norse are a strange one. They're a Bashy team, but fragile (only AV7).

I'll echo Tennboy - start with Humans (or Orcs), then progress to the more "difficult" teams.

rev
04-04-2008, 11:53
I really like Humans to start also.

You can go balanced, muscle or pace and they're all round goodness for both beginner and expert alike.

go with your gut though mate, its always the best course.

rev

Tennboy
04-04-2008, 16:12