PDA

View Full Version : New to Warhammer, seeking VC advice

Kaya
04-04-2008, 02:35
My husband and I have recently gotten into Warhammer, and I'm still learning about it all, but decided to pick up some Vampire Counts stuff, as I simply like the look of this particular faction the most. I was hoping some folks could give me some advice to maybe point me in the direction of a good smallish starting army, maybe around 500-1000 points.

Currently, I have the Battalion box, which if you need a quick recap, contains 20 Zombies, 20 Skeletons, 20 Crypt Ghouls and a Corpse Cart.

I also have 10 Dire Wolves, and 5 Blood Knights. I got the Blood Knights before anything else, and it wasn't until reading around a bit that I discovered they aren't fielded much until you get into bigger-sized armies, but the painter in me just had to snag them anyway.

I also have a female Vampire Lord (her box labels her as such), but the Codex seems to refer to her as simply a "vampire", so either I'm confused or I need another Lord/Hero to field, since I'm not 100% sure she'll work alone.

I know this is a little vague, but if anyone can give me some pointers, or suggestions on good additions to make a good starter army using this box set. I apologize if I come off sounding very noobish, but I am new, so I hope it's okay. ;)

*edit: I also really, really hope this is in the right forum. If it's not, I apologize.

Spirit
04-04-2008, 03:36
Its too early for me to have a detailed post, but one thing that stands out.

Any vampire model you wish to use can stand for a "vampire" or a "vampire lord" however in games of under 2000 points, you may only field hero level characters, and at a maximum of three heroes per army.

In the vampire case at least one hero must be a vampire.

So your female vampire can represent any type of vampire you wish to make. And she may lead your army on her own if you so wish, as she has the "vampire" special rule.

Frankly
04-04-2008, 04:37