PDA

View Full Version : enemy in the way: line or unit width?



warlord hack'a
04-04-2008, 13:56
I have a question about enemy in the way / redirecting. In the FAQ this is explained in a bit more detail with a very clear picture. In this picture you see a knight unit charging a small goblin unit, the goblin unit flees and then the knights can redirect against a bigger goblin unit.

The knights can redirect because the line you draw from the center of the knight unit to the center of the first goblin unit passes through the second goblin unit. But what if this line does NOT pass through this second goblin unit BUT the knight unit (being wider than this line) would hit this second goblin unit nonetheless? Does this mean you can not redirect into this unit, or do you still redirect as you simply physically hit it (which basically was the 6th ed. way of redirecting). Even more interesting if the 2nd enemy unit is further than the failed charge move away as the charge would not actually fail if you would make the whole move..

so what I am trying to say is this:


EEEEE
EEEEE
EEEEE
..........C


....KKKKKKKKK

now K charge C, who chooses to flee. the line bewteen C and K does not go through E, but if you move K they will hit E. Can K redirect into E or do they have to stop 1 inch away.

Atrahasis
04-04-2008, 14:06
(which basically was the 6th ed. way of redirecting).No, it wasn't.

To answer your question - the unit width is what matters. Nothing in the FAQ answer you referred to changed the wording in the rulebook that says a new charge results if the chargers would contact enemy in the way.

theunwantedbeing
04-04-2008, 14:07
K can charge E if C flee's from K's charge.
Assuming E is within charge range of course, you can of course elect to stop K 1 inch away from E if you so wish.

If your full charge would reach E, you get to make an enemy in the way charge.

warlord hack'a
05-04-2008, 08:36
thanks for thinking the same thing, what confused me was the FAQ with the line..

blurred
05-04-2008, 09:22
What if the knight unit wouldn't touch the new goblin unit, but could wheel so that they would?

EEEEE
EEEEE
EEEEE
EEEEE
.........C



.........KKKKKKKKK

Are they allowed to wheel an inch or so to make their new direction towards the big goblin unit?

Btw, where can this FAQ be found?

Atrahasis
05-04-2008, 10:50
In the diagram you've posted, the Knights MUST wheel, as C will flee northwest, and they must try to catch it.

If C were directly ahead of the centre of the Knight unit, then no, they would not be permitted to wheel - contact must be possible without deviating from the charge path.

FAQs can be found at http://uk.games-workshop.com/errata

blurred
06-04-2008, 16:36
Much obliged. :)