PDA

View Full Version : Is what you declare set in stone? (long)

bluekitsune13
05-04-2008, 02:32
All right, I just remember something from a game I played this week. I don't have the rulebook handy, but I don't remember reading anything about this. I'm wondering what the correct way to play would be in a tournament setting, just to be fair and all. I'm new to the game, and I'm still getting the hang of the rules. I just want to make sure that once I get into the game more that people aren't giving me breaks.

When you declare charges, do you have to enact the charges in the order you stated them in? For example. I'm going to charge unit X with unit A, Y with unit B, and Z with unit C. So now, do I have to go A, B, C in that order? Or can I mix it up and go C, A, then B? In the match I played, my opponent told me that I had to charge with the units as I announced them. I didn't know that so she gave me a break and let me do them out of order. I was just wondering to what extent the verbal declaration of your intents is set in stone.

When you want to shoot with a unit, are you allowed to see what units are in range, and then decide what to shoot? For example if there are multiple enemies within range, and I want to take out the toughest target. However, I'm not sure if that target is within range, although some weaker units are. If I declare that I'm firing at the tougher target, but they are out of range, can I choose another closer target? Or can I take my tape measure and draw a circle around my unit to just see what is within range? My opponent told me that once I said who I wanted to attack, whether they were out of range or whatever, I had to attack.