PDA

View Full Version : [2000] HoC Khorne Mortals (with Beasts)

Pooky
08-04-2008, 13:20
Just playing with another army list and came up with the following on my lunch break at work ;) Feel free to shoot it down, I'm still new to the game and am trying to learn...

Lord + Chaos Runesword + Armor of Damnation + Shield + Juggernaut + MoK

6 Knights + Chosen + Full Command + MoK

16 Warriors + Great Weapons + Shields + Full Command + MoK

5 Marauder Horsemen + Throwing Axes + Muso
5 Marauder Horsemen + Throwing Axes + Muso

Chariot + MoK

5 Warhounds
5 Warhounds

8 Furies

Beast Herd (18 Gors + 5 Ungors + 2 Hand weapons) + Full Command

Giant

TOTAL 1998
DD 6

Sterling
08-04-2008, 14:37
well... let's see...

the main issues I have with your list are:
1) Hammer herd has no hammer character in it. trust me... mark a wargor and throw him in that herd, then they will be much more effective... it's amazing how much more effective the unit is with a wargor in front. keep him cheap, though, just a mark and a Great Weapon.
2) Despite how powerful chosen knights of khorne are, they can be beaten if hit from a flank, they can be drawn into a bad position due to frenzy, opening up a flank, they can be tar-pitted by certain units... It's possible to make those 2 big hammer units work, but it will be difficult. Definitely not something I would normally recomend for a newcomer to fantasy.
Without counting characters, it's usually better to keep hammer units at around 150-250 points, and support units around 100-150. going more expensive than that leads to the "All eggs in one basket" syndrome, which will work against new players but get beat all to heck with a little experience.