PDA

View Full Version : Two questions regarding the usage of magic



Gabacho Mk.II
13-04-2008, 10:18
Question 1:

a/ Does using a Dispel Scroll count as casting a spell for the purpose of removing a Remains in Play spell?
b/ Does rolling Dispel Dice count as casting a spell for the purpose of removing a Remains in Play spell?

[[example - A wizard had previously cast a Remains in Play spell. If he now uses either a Dispel Scroll or rolls Dispel Dice to block an enemy's spell, does his Remains in Play spell dissipate and end?]]





Question 2:

After a spell is successfully cast, does the opponent first measure the distance to its intended target (to see if it is in range) before attempting a dispel, or is the dispel attempt made before measuring to see if the target of the spell is within range?

[[example - Wizard casts a spell that has a 24" range at an enemy unit. Does the opponent first measure the distance to his unit (to see if said unit is within 24") before attempting a dispel? If the wizard is not within 24", then obviously his spell will not take effect, thus, no dispel will be needed]]



Thanks! :)

T10
13-04-2008, 11:10
1.a. No. This was indeed a part of the Dispel Scroll rules in 6th ed. but was left out in 7th ed.

1.b. No. In fact, you don't really attribute the dispel attempt to a specific wizard even if individual wizards provide bonuses to the roll.

2. In almost all cases you can safely do the cast v.s dispel routine before working out ranges etc. This is the way it is laid out in the rules and allows for both players to exercise their range estimation skills.

In some situations this basic procedure is not satisfactory. A spell that affects all units within range may or may not include units that have Magic Resistance, which has an effect on the dispel roll. In these cases you should delay the measuring of ranges as long as possible.

-T10