PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Question



senorcardgage
13-04-2008, 17:11
Hey guys, I'm a really new player and I have a question!

Can a flying large target declare a charge on a unit that is behind another unit? For instance, if there was a unit of silver helms in front of a unit of spearmen, could a dragon declare a charge on the spearmen?

Thanks a lot!

siphon101
13-04-2008, 17:34
Page 68 of the BRB. "Note that a flyer must be able to see its intended tharget when charges are declared as normal, but can otherwise fly over models and scenery that would stop the charge of a normal model."

Flyers may charge units, even if there is another unit between the flyer and the target, as long as the flyer can see the target. In the case of a dragon, since it is a large target, it can see over intervening non large target models. Do note however that the dragon base must be able to fit. So it can not do a front charge on a unit that has another unit an inch or so away, as the model simply can not fit between them.

One-S
13-04-2008, 20:41
So it can not do a front charge on a unit that has another unit an inch or so away, as the model simply can not fit between them.

I agree, but assume the following situation.

U = unit1 - A = unit2 - D = dragon



------UUUU
------UUUU
------UUUU
___AAAAAAAA


--DD
--DD


The dragon can see unit 1 but is unable to charge in its front because unit 2 is to close and the dragon doesn't fit in between. Can the dragon still declare a charge on unit 1 and position itself in unit 1's flank?

Spirit
13-04-2008, 20:53
No, because in order to get a flank charge, you have to be in the flank arc of the unit. In your example the dragon (looks to be) in the front arc so he can't.

One-S
13-04-2008, 20:59
The dragon is in the front arc, but it can also see the flanks of unit 1.

Falkman
13-04-2008, 22:11
It doesn't matter what sides it can see, it matters in what arc it is.
If it's in the front arc it can only do a frontal charge, and if he can't charge the front due to cirmumstances (not enough space in your example) then he cannot charge.

xragg
14-04-2008, 06:02
It doesn't matter what sides it can see, it matters in what arc it is.
If it's in the front arc it can only do a frontal charge, and if he can't charge the front due to cirmumstances (not enough space in your example) then he cannot charge.

Exactly. There are diagrams of this in the BRB (maybe its in the BRB FAQ, too lazy to chack for sure which its in) illustrating this exactly.

One-S
14-04-2008, 17:15
I can see some exceptions to this.
Cosider the folowing situations:



1) S = skirmisher - A = screening unit - D = Dragon

-----S-S-S-S-S
---AAAAAAAAAAA


--DD
--DD




2) W = warmachine - C = Crew - A = screening unit - D = dragon

-----C
-----WW-C
-----WW
---AAAAAAA


--DD
--DD


In the first situation the dragon can charge the skirmishers behind the screen, but it must align on the nearest visible skirmisher. So it could be positioned as folows:



-----S
--DDSS
--DDSS
---AAAAAAAAAAA


In the second situation the dragon can charge the warmachine, you can even "tac-charge" the warmachine in such a way that the dragon will face the rear of the screening unit when positioned into contact with the warmachines crew. See below:



-----DD
-----DD
-----CC
-----WW
-----WW
---AAAAAAA


You won't make yourself popular if you do this, but RAW it's possible.

Falkman
14-04-2008, 17:25
Flyers cannot "tac-charge" afaik, they have to go from point A to B by the closest and straightest route possible.