PDA

View Full Version : Anti-gunline tactics

burad
13-04-2008, 17:42
I'd like to see more discussion on anti-gunline tactics. There's a ton of folks who whine about gunlines/shooty armies, but not nearly enough discussion about how to beat them. If more folks published their thoughts/successes on how to beat gunlines, perhaps folks would complain less and just get on with it tactically.
Guns dominate the battlefield in the 'normal' non-magical environment. It works, historically. Warhammer introduces non-'normal' elements into the equation. Magic, placing terrain to be disruptive to fields of fire, many other factors can help change the equation. Proper use of terrain helps a lot, too.
Sometimes it's not your troops at all, it's what you did with them.
Let's hear from folks who have successes against gunlines, and we'll all learn how to play effectively against guns.

Longrunripper
13-04-2008, 19:36
Whilst I have little actual experience, something leaps at me from your opening statement., which suggests a specific tactic.
Wood Elves have Tree Singing amongst their capabilities. Being able to strategically reposition woods to block LoS I believe to be very valuable, along with the extra wood they get to place at the beginning of the game.
I'm not sure if this is even effective, but it's an idea none the less.

English 2000
13-04-2008, 20:34
Summoning based VC are great against empire gunlines.

Ward saves plus look out sir "should" keep vampires safe from cannon sniping.

Ghoul infantry - T4 and can be summoned.
Spirit Hosts.
Wraiths

Just move forward and summon ghouls every turn.
Save d. scrolls to keep ethereals safe.

IF he takes a more balanced style gunline (ie counter chargers) you can take grave guard to counter his hammer unit.

Well built undead won't have too much trouble against the gunline.

Mike KK
13-04-2008, 21:43
a better gunline :D

2nd turn charge armies

more models than they can kill ie massive horde armies