PDA

View Full Version : Painter Tips

Kabal of The Ordo Mallius
23-04-2008, 15:10
My bad if I posted in wrong forum. Anyways, anybody know a good website that has painting guides? I don't consider myself a good painter and I want my VC army to look professional. Any website links would be great.

soulcrusher
23-04-2008, 15:18
mallius i have just finished my VC and they are seriously easy! to paint

skeletons : scorched brown , drybrush bone with bleached bone and then a bit of mechite red or purple for the robes. use boltgun metal on the spears and metal parts and ink them. also lightly ink the bone too!

tips: a great tip is to add bits of moddeling sand to skeletons and dire wolves to make them look more like they have come out the ground

Kabal of The Ordo Mallius
23-04-2008, 15:26
I realize they are fairly easy to paint. But as a crappy painter I need to know every step lest I screw up! From basing to final touches I need it all. I really want a nice-looking army. So far I've got everything primed black, and based with sand. Basicaly I need a guide to painting:
-Skeletons (bones)
-Ghouls (flesh painting)
-Wolves and Varghaulf (furr)
-Grave Guard (armour and cloth)
-Corpse Cart (wood and corpse colours)
-Inking, Highlights etc...

redrum
23-04-2008, 15:48
Try the GW website, they have a couple of step by step painting guides for the new Skeletons and I think Ghouls is the other one. You also might want to check the painting section on this website, usually some pretty good tips in there.

BloodiedSword
23-04-2008, 15:54
To be honest I'd suggest just going with gut instinct at first and painting basic rank and file first. Experiment a bit and it will give you an idea of what works and what doesn't.

Even better if you have old models you don't need to test on, but if not just chuck them into the back ranks or say they're "mutated mouldy zombies" or something.