PDA

View Full Version : Wizard and Shield?



londo
11-05-2008, 15:52
Hi,
Is wizard allowed to have a magic shield? I could not find any word about that in rulebook..
Thank you

Anaris
11-05-2008, 16:09
If he is allowed a mudane Shield, and he can take magic armour, then yes. Otherwise, no.

Shallowain
12-05-2008, 16:16
If he is allowed a mudane Shield, and he can take magic armour, then yes. Otherwise, no.

Or if the magic Item explicitly allows wizards to use them (Armour of Tarnus for example)

theunwantedbeing
12-05-2008, 16:25
Unless there's an exception to the rule (like vampires being allowed magic armour, or in the item itself like the armour of tarnus) a model needs to be able to take a mundane sheild/suit of armour to be able to take a magical sheild/suit of armour.

It detail's this on page 121 of the rulebook.

It's an easily missed rule.

Fraggzy
13-05-2008, 09:02
cant a wizard wear anny type of armour? aint it that they just cant cast magic annymore?

Jedi152
13-05-2008, 09:08
No that rule was dropped in 6th.

Does the rule that you have to have basic armour to be allowed magic armour still apply? I'm surprised the vampire FAQers haven't picked up on that.

Braad
13-05-2008, 09:13
That rule was dropped after 6th, not in 6th, and 7th gave the rule that wizards need the option for normal armour to be allowed to take magic armour.

Why would it need to be FAQ'ed for VC?

Jedi152
13-05-2008, 09:17
You know what i meant! :p It was dropped in the transition between 6th and 7th.

Vampires don't have normal options for armour, they can only get it through a vampiric power. I'm surprised no-one has tried to say that means they can't have magic armour yet.

Faustburg
13-05-2008, 09:25
Because people are sensible enough to see that even if it is "through a vampiric power" it still means that the vampire has the option for armour?

Jedi152
13-05-2008, 09:36
Works for me, but some RAW devotees refuse to use common sense.

Bear in mind that this is the forum where people once tried to argue that there is no rule stopping a character riding two mounts.

Evil-Lite
13-05-2008, 10:07
Vampires don't have normal options for armour, they can only get it through a vampiric power. I'm surprised no-one has tried to say that means they can't have magic armour yet.

One reason could be the Vampire book states that all vampires can be given magical armour.

Jedi152
13-05-2008, 10:22
That might explain it - i really need to pay more attention when i read a book! :D

bosstroll
13-05-2008, 12:55
That might explain it - i really need to pay more attention when i read a book! :D

In our defense, that rule is sortoff squeezed in at the top of the page with magic armours on it, i also got distracted by all the goodies there :D

Spirit
13-05-2008, 15:52
No that rule was dropped in 6th.

Does the rule that you have to have basic armour to be allowed magic armour still apply? I'm surprised the vampire FAQers haven't picked up on that.

It has been picked up on.. alot.. unfortunately.

People dont have alot of common sense here these days lol.

Mercules
13-05-2008, 17:41
It has been picked up on.. alot.. unfortunately.

People dont have alot of common sense here these days lol.

One thing you will learn about Common Sense, it is not all that common.