PDA

View Full Version : Flank Charge and Stand and Shoot



Rubicon
13-05-2008, 23:57
Can a unit charged in the flank or rear stand and shoot?

theunwantedbeing
14-05-2008, 00:08
No...unless it has some rule that allows it to.
Note that fast cavalry can only stand and shoot to the front.

Cap'n Facebeard
14-05-2008, 00:17
Only if its a large, tree-shaped monster.

Spirit
14-05-2008, 01:18
What if its got a 360 degree arc of sight but is not a skirmisher?

ehlijen
14-05-2008, 01:35
What does have a 360 LOS arc and is neither a skirmisher, Fast Cav or single character on foot? As for those three, it's yes, no and yes.

Mercules
14-05-2008, 02:38
A Slann with a couple Skink priests in prime locations, but then again that is only for spell casting.

alextroy
14-05-2008, 03:08
More precisely, Stand and Shoot does not change the requirements for a unit to shoot at another unit that exist in the Shooting Phase with only a few exceptions:

1) All charging units must be more then half their respective Charge Move away from the unit performing the Stand and Shoot.

2) War Machines cannot fire, although missile armed crew can.

3) Fast Cavarly use normal LOS rules, not the 360 degree LOS rule.

Milgram
14-05-2008, 06:01
well, a unit charging to the flank is not necessarily invisible. remember that more than 50% of the charging unit must be in the 'flank LOS', but 49% of the unit may still be in the shooting arc of the attacked unit.

so stand and shoot uses the normal LOS here, and you may shoot at a flanking unit that you actually can see - as long as all other prerequisits are given.

Spirit
14-05-2008, 14:17
What does have a 360 LOS arc and is neither a skirmisher, Fast Cav or single character on foot? As for those three, it's yes, no and yes.

I was after the answer for fast cav and characters.

theunwantedbeing
14-05-2008, 14:38
Page 70
Read the paragraph titled line of sight
Specifically the final sentence.

JoeGuardsman
14-05-2008, 15:06
And what about pistols?

theunwantedbeing
14-05-2008, 16:30
If you arent facing the enemy....you cant stand and shoot, even if armed with pistols.
You need a rule that allows you to stand and shoot even if charged in the flank/rear.

Skirmishers dont have a flank/rear so still abide by the rules.
The only exception I can think of is the treeman, as Cap'n Facebeard so amusingly pointed out. ^_^

Malagant
15-05-2008, 00:30
The answers have confused me...

...skirmishers can stand & shoot in any direction, yes?

...a single on-foot character can stand & shoot in any direction, yes?

Nurgling Chieftain
15-05-2008, 00:33
...skirmishers can stand & shoot in any direction, yes?Yes.


...a single on-foot character can stand & shoot in any direction, yes?If he's US1, yes. Otherwise, and aside from the Treeman Ancient's special rule, no.

Fulgrim's-Chosen
15-05-2008, 19:57
So ...to use the new Flamers of Tzeentch as an example...they have 18-inch range for thier firebolts...which are now allowed to be used as a Stand-and-Shoot reaction.


If you choose to use this when enemies are charging at you...they have to be beyond 4 inches (for normal enemies that Move-4, or Charge-8) and beyond 7 inches (for enemies that Move-7, or Charge-14), right ?

(just as examples to ensure I'm understanding it correctly)


-----------

By the way...has anyone used Flamers from the new book yet...! OUCH :evilgrin:

alextroy
16-05-2008, 14:32
Correct in both examples.