PDA

View Full Version : Ethereal units and marching



eleveninches
14-05-2008, 09:52
Looking at the description of ethereal untis in the VC army book, i was wondering:
1. does this mean that they can always march and never be march blocked.

2. Do Black knights ignore barding penalty to movement

3. Can they move through other units without charging into them

theunwantedbeing
14-05-2008, 10:00
1. No.
2. No.(open for debate really.....it'll get FAQ'ed maybe)
3. No.

T10
14-05-2008, 10:43
Being able to march is a conditional bonus. By default the unit's move is its Movement value in inches. Marching is not the default move.

-T10

eleveninches
14-05-2008, 10:58
It says they can move through all terrain as though it were open ground, but doesnt state whether or not you can move through other units

theunwantedbeing
14-05-2008, 11:01
You cant move through your own units unless you are fleeing.
Undead tend not to do a lot of fleeing.

eleveninches
14-05-2008, 11:06
From the description of the rules for ethereal units, black knights should NOT suffer the movement penelty for wearing barding

Lingonberry
14-05-2008, 11:21
I think so to, but some disagree. We play it like that at our group until GW says otherwise.

E-616
14-05-2008, 11:54
Yeah, I think they are definately march blocked and previous wordings of the ethereal rule used to state that you couldn't move or see through other units.

The barding one is up for debate as the current wording of the rules seem to allow you to ignore the rule for the movement penalty but whether this was intentional or not I couldn't say ^^ guess we'll be waiting on the faq for that one :)

EvC
14-05-2008, 12:12
There's actually no rule at all that says units can't move through each other. So ethereals can move through other units just as much as corporeal units can ;)

Barding shouldn't decrease movement, but most FAQ writers have decided it does (Despite precedent and definition). There may be an official FAQ out tomorrow that clarifies it once and for all...

Braad
14-05-2008, 13:08
They can move through terrain.
Units are not terrain.
Thus they cannot move through units.

Malorian
14-05-2008, 13:53
I'd say no to all your questions except for the barding. Like theunwantedbeing said though, it is up for debate.

Just work it out before the game with your opponent.

Spirit
14-05-2008, 14:15
1. No
2.Yes
3. No

Thats my opinion.


There's actually no rule at all that says units can't move through each other. So ethereals can move through other units just as much as corporeal units can ;)


Theres no rule saying they cant teleport to any point on the board either ;)

EvC
14-05-2008, 15:35
See also, Wood Elves, Moonstone of the Hidden Path ;)

Atrahasis
14-05-2008, 15:46
Theres no rule saying they cant teleport to any point on the board either ;)
That's not a valid counterargument, since they DO have permission to move, and only certain restrictions (manoeuvres, terrain) on how to do it.