PDA

View Full Version : How do chaos legions land vehicles?

Arkhar
19-05-2008, 18:25
Iīve never seen any transport of chaos that can land transport onto a planet surface from a cruiser, not even in epic. Do we assume that chaos also makes use of thunderhawk gunship/transporters? In the Horus heresy novels, every legion had its thunderhawks. Do they still have them? What do you think?.

Acheron,Bringer of Terror
19-05-2008, 18:37
yeah they have them, and drop pods to transport dreads - any more questions ?

dreadclaw = earlier, more advanced version of sm drop pod

x-esiv-4c
19-05-2008, 18:39
Dreadclaws.
They use them as ship to land carriers as well as conduct boarding actions with them.

Arkhar
19-05-2008, 19:04
I already knew the dreadclaws, i'm not a newbie you know :rolleyes:.

Now that I think of it, IIRC, chaos fleets in BFG have the option to replace its bomber, fighters and dreadclaws for thunderhawks, so that can be a proof that they still use them.

Wow, i've answered myself, i should go to see a doctor right now :D

different13
19-05-2008, 19:35
Read Storm of Iron.
A certain ship made me exclaim, "Holy ****", upon reading it.

Btw, not everything in the background has to have basis in the game. I don't see rules for supply lines, but I'm still pretty sure most soldiers need to eat.

Anyway, to answer your question - the same way the Imperials do - purpose-built lander ships, either captured, constructed, etc.

Johnnyfrej
19-05-2008, 19:58
Sometimes if there is a large enough chaos cult on the planet they can sacrifice enough people to summon a Warp Portal and the CSMs just show up.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=2fYJRoTZypQ&feature=related

PondaNagura
19-05-2008, 20:55
who narrated that jimmy durante?

chaos def have transports, either from back in the legion days, things they've commandeered, things their cultists use, or even things they engineered...like living vehicles meant for transportation.

Raven1
19-05-2008, 21:00
Read Storm of Iron.