PDA

View Full Version : Forge World heavy mortars



antin3
20-05-2008, 00:01
I really like the Forge World heavy mortar, I am seriously thinking about buying some and using them as mortars in my new IG army. My question is are they too massive for to count as mortars? If so can I use them as heavy mortars and if so do I have to buy the IA books to use them?
Thanks

AllisterCaine
20-05-2008, 01:10
Yes they are, a normal mortar is smaller than a guardsmen. No you dont need the book, just have a print out. I believe the rules are 48" S6 Ap4 Ordance 1

Col. Dash
20-05-2008, 01:16
Wow, I do believe thats infringment lol. FW makes some awesome artillery peices. Really considering getting a pair of Bombards for my Apoc siege company.

Lord Cook
20-05-2008, 03:43
I believe the rules are 48" S6 Ap4 Ordance 1

Not quite. The rules are in IAv5, and if you decide to use them you will need a photocopy of the relevant page anyway. In any case, we can't give out rules.

As for mortars, they are much smaller than heavy mortars. It would definately look out of place IMO, but it's your army at the end of the day.

Free Company
20-05-2008, 03:59
Unless your mortar crews are packing step ladders, it's going to look pretty odd. Any reason you don't want to field them as Heavy Mortars?

As an aside, it wouldn't be too hard to build up infantry mortars in a similar fashion with a little styrene tubing and card.

Baragash
20-05-2008, 05:34
Got a heavy mortar here, they're 2 or 3 times the size of a guardsman, whereas a normal mortar is what, 75% the size of a guardsman.

It would fit on a HW team base though.

Spacker
20-05-2008, 06:22
Got a heavy mortar here, they're 2 or 3 times the size of a guardsman, whereas a normal mortar is what, 75% the size of a guardsman.

It would fit on a HW team base though.

No it wouldn't, it has a larger footprint than 60mm. Click the pic below for larger version, this is a Quad Launcher (same chassis as the Heavy Mortar, only the barrel is different) next to a 60mm base holding a Steel Legion heavy bolter team, you can see clearly that it won't fit on a 60mm base (not unless you cut half the chassis off).

http://www.ageofstrife.com/albums/Spack7/IMG_2411.thumb.jpg (http://www.ageofstrife.com/gallery/Spack7/IMG_2411)

Zemlod
30-12-2008, 01:11
So, what's your recommendation on base size?
I myself am tempted to just use an old cd or two, which would give me some 120mm. Plenty of space to go all diorama on, but maybe a tad too big for deployment purposes..

thoughts anyone?

ehlijen
30-12-2008, 01:43
I believe they are not meant to have a base at all. They are unit type artillery if remember correctly (if not disregard me) and therefore the guns would be vehicles. Vehicles don't need bases unless they have a WS. You'd still need to base the crew as normal though.

MrP
30-12-2008, 03:11
If I eventually get round to basing mine (and I probably won't, as it interferes with hooking them up to the back of the Centaur model), I'd use the lids and bases of Booja-Booja chocolates. Here's one compared to a normal GW 60mm base.

http://i86.photobucket.com/albums/k98/MrP_01/Great%20War/Support.jpg

MrP
30-12-2008, 12:27
They also fit on that chariot base GW do.

http://s86.photobucket.com/albums/k98/MrP_01/?action=view&current=HM-1.jpg

dingareth
30-12-2008, 15:24
Actually, I mounted my Quad Launchers on 6mm bases just fine, along with the kneeling crewman. The wheels barely fit on the front, but the overhang isn't that bad to get it to match the rest of my army. I'd let you use them as mortars, they look cool, and if you put the money into it, then go for it!