PDA

View Full Version : Some newbie Empire rule questions.

Fluffy
21-05-2008, 11:02
Hello guys.

I'm rather new to the whole warhammer business, but I've got a few questions about Empire.

I've always found the Empire armies to be rather charming and stylish - but there's two things I find a bit weird.
I havn't played Empire yet, and I don't have the book - but I saw this fella at my local GW shop playing with a (I don't know if I heard it right) "popemobile" :wtf: and a tank.

I don't know if I heard it right as I said, but as I understood it, it was a special chariot with a level 4 mage on top of it.

Now, that level 4 mage cast tons of magics each turn (that was easily dispelled but didn't require any dice to cast) and two of those spells he cast seemed outright crazy. One could (as far as I understood) heal all the wounds on the tank (which didn't take alot of spank anyway) and one which he cast several times during the game on his super chaingun-canon-warmachine-thingy on a hill, made it reroll failed rolls to hit and failed rolls to wound.
That thing crushed like 75% of a big regiment in one round :eek:

And that tank! So the other player charged the flank of the tank with a bunch of orc cavalry (which didn't seem too smart considering what that tank did to those poor orcs) and did like, one wound. Then, that crazy thing of a tank turned around and crushed those orcs unlike anything I've ever seen in my very short career. He did around 10 dice of str 6 HITS on that unit!

So here's my questions:

A. Can a level 4 empire mage on a "popemobile" cast spells without and range restrictions? He used it on the cainguncannon which was like 30 inch away. How does those spells work?

B. How much spank can that tank do in close combat every turn? Is there no restrictions? How does it work? From what I saw there probably isn't a regiment in the whole of warhammer that would stand a chance against that tank in close combat!