PDA

View Full Version : 1500pts Vampire counts - not played in 3 years

bork da basher
29-05-2008, 19:55
i havent played warhammer since 6th edition 3 years ago so im rusty to say the least but lately ive been considering getting back into it. i dont really want to collect anything bigger than 1500pts because it becomes unmanagable for me to paint and time to play bigger games is scarce. anyway ive decided more or less on vampire counts, this is my first attempt at a decent list. please let me know what you think.

HEROES
Vampire / 100 / dread knight, book of arkhan / 160

Vampire / 100 / lord of death, avatar of death, dispel scroll, talisman of lycni/ 170

Vampire / 100 / lord of death, avatar of death, dispel scroll / 160

CORE
10 skeleton warriors / 8 / standard bearer & musician / 92

10 skeleton warriors / 8 / standard bearer & musician / 92

corpse cart / 75 / unholy lodestone / 100

10 dire wolves / 8 / doom wolf / 88

SPECIAL
5 fell bats / 20 / 100

5 black knights / 24 / full command, standard of hellish vigour / 185

RARE
5 blood knights / 55 / full command, banner of the dead legion / 350
1497pts

the core of my force is anchored around the twin skeleton units, each led by a great weapon wielding bloodsucker. the aim is to pump these two minimum sized units up as much as possible in the opening rounds (why pay points for whats freely given) and then once combat is joined use the carts miasma of i'll hit you first to lay the smackdown with the vamps, stipping off enough of the enemy front rankers to negate much of a come back, hopefully i should be large enough to auto break with fear. one of the vamps has the talisman of lycni so he can zoom out and smash any chariots that get too close for comfort. a pair of obligatory dispel scrolls in there too.