PDA

View Full Version : HE 2250 Comp Friendly

fyrblckdragon
30-05-2008, 16:33
This is my first attempt to create a list that is at least 40% core with max 25% in Special and less than 10% Rare (Yes, there is a named character- so be it)

My question is how competitive could this build be?

Lords+Heroes-
Alith Anar
Noble, with Reaver Bow, Talisman Loec, Hvy A, Shield
Noble, with Longbow, White Sword, Hvy A, Shield

527 pts

Core-
3 x 10 Archers
4 x 15 Spearmen, Full Command

970 pts

Special-

10 Shadow Warriors
7 Shadow Warriors
15 Sword Masters- Full Command, Banner of Arcane Protection

552 pts

Rare-

2 Repeater Bolt Throwers

Total- 2249 pts, 131 Models

Kai Itzah
30-05-2008, 17:01
I think it will work personally because the amount of missile fire it has, but I don't think it will be a very interesting game.

Andrew Luke
30-05-2008, 18:47
Maybe try some Sea Guard, they are a really underrated core choice and sure to bump your comp score. Also, whats your reasoning behind the special character? Do you already have the model? I feel like you'd be better off with a level 2 mage and more troops in most cases. Also 15 Swordmasters is probably too many. They should be active CR only, static CR isn't worth the points. I'd run them at 10-12 six wide and then use those points to get something fast. Your list is quite slow.

fyrblckdragon
30-05-2008, 20:28
Alith Anar is cheaper than any other equivalent scouting character, and does more for the points. With the moonbow, he has the potential to scout on a cav flank, and do some damage turn one.

The only reason I didn't include one mage, is that with magic, I have found the need to go all or nothing, some magic never seemed to work. This way, I skip magic in favor of shooting.

It is slow, but I doubt I'd really have any flanks exposed with eight infantry units.