PDA

View Full Version : Fear in Part of Unit

Aristone
22-10-2005, 10:10
I have a question that has been bugging me for a while, but my rulebook was recently stolen, so I can't look the actual wording of the rule. I believe is says something along the lines of (If a fear causing unit is in combat, and the enemy is outnumbered, they dont need to make a break test, but automaticall count as failing) [not what it says, just how I understand it to be]. So, if you were to have a character with an item (or mark or something) that made it cause fear, join a unit that doesn't cause fear, win combat and outnumber the enemy unit. [say, a skink chief with that dagger of "fear to skaven", in a unit of a bunch of skins, beats skaven in combat and outnumbers, does the skaven auto-flee?]

Snoozer
22-10-2005, 10:14
I would say yes, they would auto-flee, because they fear the character and they have to flee from him, but I'm no expert of the fear rules so I'm not 100% sure.

:D

Atrahasis
22-10-2005, 10:36
long run-on sentence of doom

To autobreak from combat due to fear, a losing unit must be outnumbered by models that they fear. If the only fear-causing model is a character, then that will rarely be sufficient to autobreak any unit, as a character's US is at most 7 (if mounted on a dragon).

T10
22-10-2005, 10:44
The unit (if subject to Fear) will automatically break if defeated in combat and outnumbered by Fear-causing enemies.

Outnumbering is based on the unit strength, and in this instance only those models that cause Fear are counted.

There are banners that make the unit that carry it cause Fear. An item given to a character that has the same effect would be rather powerful.

GW has also ruled that this is worked out differently from the +1 to combat resolution for outnumbering. Instead, each unit that was defeated in the combat counts compares its own unit strength against those units it is in direct contact with.