PDA

View Full Version : All-Stormtrooper Guard? Madness?

Brother_Chaplian Raimo
01-06-2008, 17:14
Well, probably. :)

Pertinent Information-

1). I love Guard. Only the fact that I also love other armies has prevented my building a proper army of them before.

2). I love the Karskin models. This is true.

3). Combining the above, I've been drawn towards creating an all-Stormtrooper guard army.

4). I am a painter and modeler foremost.

So, a few general questions-

Good Idea? Bad Idea? Yes, that's really quite general...

Playability- would this army stand a chance? It'll be small, for guard, and probably light on armor.

Doctrines- I'm thinking about using Stormtroopers, Grenadiers, Carapace, Special Weapons Squads, and Sharpshooters. Yes? No?

I imagine I could just PM this to General Steiner*, but I felt the public opinion would be nice.

* Hell, I bet he's already done a guard army just like this...

Captin Korea!
01-06-2008, 17:20
You will be a bit low on models, but it could work. I made a 1k list with all ST's and the augmentation doctrine for my Admech troops, they did will Vs a khorne/ nurgle army mainly due to the fact I had 7 heavy bolters :)(4 from a techpriest, 3 in command platoon)

Bloodknight
01-06-2008, 17:20
As for the playability - well, it's alright, I've done it before with 50 Stormtroopers plus a few carapace Guardsmen.

But, and that may be a major issue: there is a new IG codex coming next year, and nobody can tell you if that will even be an option, with doctrines going. Who knows if Grenadiers will stay in the list?
Before dumping that amount of money into the army with buying 60 Stormies, I would take that long into consideration.

Brother_Chaplian Raimo
01-06-2008, 17:35
I had realized that a little while ago...

i think I'll be all right- I'm only planning to use Karskin for the actual Stormtroopers, and will be converting Cadians to make grenadiers. If need be, I can just say they're normal guardsmen...

bassmasterliam