PDA

View Full Version : Re-rolling artillery dice



Bortus
02-06-2008, 23:44
I once asked this question but it's been quite a long while and I lost the link so here it is again. Can the spell "Second Sign of Amul" spell be used to re-roll artillery dice for say a Hellblaster? :rolleyes:

alextroy
03-06-2008, 01:10
No. Second Sign of Amul is very specific as to which dice can be rerolled and they do not include Artillery dice.

xragg
03-06-2008, 01:24
Prior editions second sign merely mentioned it gave you rerolls of a d6, which an artillery die is a d6. This edition is very specific of what you can reroll which is stated in the spell's description.

Griefbringer
03-06-2008, 08:49
which an artillery die is a d6

Artillery die is not a D6 - it does not have even distribution of numbers [1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6] on it.

kroq'gar
03-06-2008, 08:52
You can with the to hits or wounds, but not the artillery die. Some d6 rerolls however are usefull for reroll misfire results, wounds with cannon etc...

bosstroll
03-06-2008, 12:24
Artillery die is not a D6 - it does not have even distribution of numbers [1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6] on it.

d6 simply means a six sided die, which an artillery die is.

DeathlessDraich
03-06-2008, 12:33
d6 simply means a six sided die, which an artillery die is.

This is true for everday usage but D6, D3 have specific meanings in Warhammer - pg (xii)

Artillery and Scatter dice are known as Special Dice and not D6

kroq'gar
03-06-2008, 12:52
Yup, otherwise you couldnt use a d6 as a d3...

Artillery dice are unique.

Griefbringer
03-06-2008, 13:44
d6 simply means a six sided die, which an artillery die is.

DD already pointed out the difference as specified in the rulebook.

Otherwise, if we would allow for D6 to include all six-sided dice (regardless of what numbers they have on the sides) there would be a plenty of issues with various references to D6 in the rulebook. Eg. the rules for hitting and wounding tell me to roll D6 - could I opt to roll an artillery then? Or cannon causes D6 wounds - should I roll a scatter die for that?

[Having an orc big boss charging with his choppa to only roll a bunch of misfires for his to hit -rolls could be amusing, though.]