PDA

View Full Version : Life is Cheap Question



Eigilb
09-06-2008, 19:26
How do you distribute the random hits (1-3)?

If 2 units are in CC. 1-3 it's your own unit and on 4-6 it's the enemy?

And similar with 3 units? 1-2 + 3-4 + 5-6?

moose
09-06-2008, 19:32
4-6 it hits the intended target.
1-3 it hits a randomly determined unit.

I just play 4-6 theirs, 1-3 mine, since it saves rolling twice.

Eigilb
09-06-2008, 19:43
4-6 it hits the intended target.
1-3 it hits a randomly determined unit.

I just play 4-6 theirs, 1-3 mine, since it saves rolling twice.

Yes, but shouldn't the hit on randomly determined unit be distributed amongst all the units in the specific CC?

Braad
09-06-2008, 19:47
If on 1-3 it hits a random target (like you say, I don't know the actual rule) then there is 50% chance it is not you... and you just take the hit?

moose
09-06-2008, 21:25
Yes, but shouldn't the hit on randomly determined unit be distributed amongst all the units in the specific CC?

4-6 hits the intended unit
1-3 hits one of the remaining units in the close combat

So if there are units ABCD in combat, and you target A.
A roll of 4-6 will hit unit A.
A roll of 1-3 will hit units BCD.

You can roll it as 4-6 is A, and 1,2,3 are units BCD respectivley as I do.
Or roll the 1-3 dice again allocating the remaining units a number on the dice.

Eigilb
10-06-2008, 11:13
Okay, thanks.

I thought the randomly distributed hit, could be distributed to the intented target aswell.

DeathlessDraich
10-06-2008, 11:59
4-6 hits the intended unit
1-3 hits one of the remaining units in the close combat

So if there are units ABCD in combat, and you target A.
A roll of 4-6 will hit unit A.
A roll of 1-3 will hit units BCD.

You can roll it as 4-6 is A, and 1,2,3 are units BCD respectivley as I do.
Or roll the 1-3 dice again allocating the remaining units a number on the dice.

Some added clarification:

If enemy unit P is in combat with Skaven units A and B, while enemy unit Q is in combat with Skaven unit (A) only:

If Q is targeted, then rolls of 1-3 will hit (A) only.
If P is targeted, then rolls of 1-3 will hit (A) and (B) determined randomly.


Only Skaven units in close combat with the target are affected unless you interpret being in close combat as 'involved in the same multiple combat'.

Gazak Blacktoof
10-06-2008, 12:05
This question is directly answered in the FAQ.

If you 'miss' then the unit you 'missed' isn't among those that can be hit by the randomisation in the second step.

If two units are in combat the 'hits' will kill models in the target unit. 'Misses' will hit your own unfortunate unit.

http://uk.games-workshop.com/news/errata/assets/wh/skaven.pdf

Eigilb
10-06-2008, 13:30
Lol, its the first thing i the FAQ. Guess i missed that ;).

So the random hits can never be resolved against an enemy unit?

Ward.
10-06-2008, 13:48
Against an enemy unit yes, just not the one you where originally aiming at.

Gazak Blacktoof
10-06-2008, 16:20
Against an enemy unit yes, just not the one you where originally aiming at.

Exactly right.