PDA

View Full Version : Character on Horse in unit



UltimateNagash
16-06-2008, 17:22
Now this is something I've never done, but it's been said it is possible - now, he's on a normal horse, so he displaces one model. I get that. But can he be picked out etc? Does he get Look Out Sir?
Cheers

Loopstah
16-06-2008, 17:27
A character on a mount, in a unit, that doesn't count as a Large Target or have US of 5+, follows all the rules that apply for any other character in a Unit.

UltimateNagash
16-06-2008, 17:30
Cool :)
Mannfred on barded Nightmare in the GG - hardass unit :evilgrin:

Grontik
16-06-2008, 18:25
One of my favorite things about 7th Ed. is allowing mounted characters in units to benefit. Now my question is on those Grave Guard as I am starting assemby on mine ... HW or GW? I'm gonna search through the lists forum I guess ...

Loopstah
16-06-2008, 18:27
I'm doing a unit of both, then I can use either. :D

UltimateNagash
16-06-2008, 19:10
GW, I love 'em ;)

T10
17-06-2008, 04:33
Now this is something I've never done, but it's been said it is possible - now, he's on a normal horse, so he displaces one model. I get that.

Just to add a bit to your confusion: the character does not displace a model. Or at least, you need to introduce some house rules to do this.

UltimateNagash
17-06-2008, 12:06
Can't do this then:
M M M C M
M M M C M
M M M M M
M M M M M

Gazak Blacktoof
17-06-2008, 12:12
Yes you can. Its the commonly accepted approach to placing differently sized models in units and complies with GW's last official commentary on the subject.

I don't think even T10 uses that horrid diagram when he plays.

Condottiere
17-06-2008, 12:50
Whenever I see that diagram, I keep expecting a spider to jump out. But technically, it is correct. Practically, our group has decided to ignore it.