PDA

View Full Version : against the lizzies

Lord Asuryan
17-06-2008, 20:28
I'm coming up to a 2000 point game against lizardmen-fairly unconventional list, looks something like this:
oldblood: cold one, BBoC, Maiming shield, sotek, quetzl?
2 level 2 skink priest, unknown equipment
1 unit of 20 saurus
2 units of 20 sotek saurus
2 units of 10 skinks
1 unit of 5 Saurus Cavalry
4 kroxigors
3 salamanders
scar-vet on cold one, unknown equipment

thought I'd ask for some help-I play Dark Elves, and want to make a good list against this guy, without going on an RBT binge. I'm thinking along the lines of bringing either Morathi or a highborn on black dragon, for mobility, and taking an overall fast list with lots of dark riders, avoiding blocks of infantry-the saurus would slaughter them anyways. oh, and a few CoCs. any ideas? do I have it all wrong? I'm fairly new to dark elves, so any help would be appreciated.

OldMaster
17-06-2008, 21:36
Theh... you could've waited two months longer and you'd have a new armybook :)

What does your opponent have? Ok magic, ok heroes.... slow troops and fast troops. Fast ones are the Skinks and the Kroxigor. Beware: Kroxigors can actually charge through Skinks.
Salamanders are nasty for T3 elves. Their short range, however, should mean you would be able to finish them off pretty quickly.... highbornondragoning them will also help. Overrun guaranteed.
Shoot those skinks down with repeaters. Multiple shot + skirmish penalties would actually mean you hit them on 5+, but you actually wound on 3+. Good thing.
They can hurt, though. A lot.

Get that dragon behind the enemy line - a unit of Saurus (cavalry) surviving a hit in the rear from a dragon? Never!
Especially if you pummel them form the flank, as well. They are sturdyu fighter though, so try to avoid attacking them right forward... except if you have something really heavy hitting. :D