PDA

View Full Version : Mounted Characters in Infantry Units - Legal?



Kalist
19-06-2008, 12:38
I did the 'thread search' for mounted characters and found topics talking about how they fit into infantry units so I can only assume that it is legal. My question is 'Where does it say that mounted characters can join infantry units'?

At my club a few people were positive that this was an illegal move - mounted characters could only join cavalry units. This makes sense but if it's legal to put them in an infantry block it would be nice to be able to show them where it says that you can do that.


Thank you.

Loopstah
19-06-2008, 12:55
Characters can join units of cavalry, infantry, war machine crew and chariots.
Characters can't join a monster, another character, a single chariot or units of flyers.

Character can't join units if mounted on a flying creature.
Chatracters can only join chariot units if mounted on a chariot.


There is nothing preventing a character mounted on a cavalry mount or non-flying monster from joining an infantry unit.

explorator
19-06-2008, 14:07
Rule Haiku

Mounted Heroes may
Join units of Infantry
Totally legal

Grimgormx
19-06-2008, 14:52
Mounted Characters can join infantry units, but they can be picked as objetives for shooting and magic.

Mid'ean
19-06-2008, 15:10
Mounted Characters can join infantry units, but they can be picked as objetives for shooting and magic.

Sorry, but your wrong here. Mounted characters still receive all the same protection as characters on foot in units. They can't be targeted out for normal shooting and magic.

Lord Aries
19-06-2008, 16:30
Mounted Characters that are US4 or less may not be picked out, and benefit from look out sir rolls.

Conspyre
19-06-2008, 16:30
In order to be picked out as a target for shooting, they have to be at least US5. That'd be a mighty big horse.

DeathlessDraich
19-06-2008, 17:06
Rule Haiku

Mounted Heroes may
Join units of Infantry
Totally legal


Mounted Characters can join infantry units.

Sorry for being pedantic.
- only *most* characters on *some* mounts e.g. steed/horse, may join units.

Hello and welcome Mid'ean

Loopstah
19-06-2008, 17:19
Sorry for being pedantic.
- only *most* characters on *some* mounts e.g. steed/horse, may join units.

Hello and welcome Mid'ean

*some* being anything that doesn't fly.

So that excludes:

Dragons
Winged Nightmares
Abyssal Terrors
Griffons
Hippogryphs
Pegasus
Wyverns
Manticores
Discs of Tzeetch
Great Eagles

Griefbringer
19-06-2008, 18:22
In order to be picked out as a target for shooting, they have to be at least US5. That'd be a mighty big horse.

The giant wooden horse of Troy might qualify. However, it might have rather lame statline otherwise.

Prophet of Quetzl
19-06-2008, 19:08
*some* being anything that doesn't fly.

So that excludes:

Dragons
Winged Nightmares
Abyssal Terrors
Griffons
Hippogryphs
Pegasus
Wyverns
Manticores
Discs of Tzeetch
Great Eagles

But does not exclude Carnosaurs. Hooray!

Gazak Blacktoof
19-06-2008, 19:29
The giant wooden horse of Troy might qualify. However, it might have rather lame statline otherwise.

Ah yes but the unit and character go inside that horse so you couldn't target them even with a long rifle.

Lord Aries
19-06-2008, 22:56
Did you know you can make a skink riding stegadon join a unit... and then that unit becomes stubborn, as it is lead by a stubborn character....

Kalist
20-06-2008, 05:33
Thanks for the clarification. Is this stuff in the BRB? If so, what is it under?

Oh, could I have 2 mounted characters in the same infantry unit? Or is it 1 character per unit?

Tarax
20-06-2008, 07:01
As many as you can fit and have characters. There is no limitation.

PS I quite abhere to mounted characters joining infantry units.

Loopstah
20-06-2008, 09:32
Thanks for the clarification. Is this stuff in the BRB? If so, what is it under?

Oh, could I have 2 mounted characters in the same infantry unit? Or is it 1 character per unit?

pg 72

Characters & Units
Joining and Leaving Units

That covers all the rules for which characters may join which units.

Kalist
20-06-2008, 10:21
Thank you!

phoenixnl
21-06-2008, 02:34
So how are ranks counted when a mounted character is in an infantry unit?
For example:

XXXO
XXXO
XXXX

where

X is an infantry model
and
O
O Is a Cavalry sized base. Would that unit consist of 2 or 3 ranks?

Condottiere
21-06-2008, 02:39
Funny, I thought this was covered already. Technically, it's 2 ranks, as each model counts as one for each rank. As a house rule, you could make it 3 ranks. There are some weird diagrams in another thread demonstrating this. Look it up. ;)

Loopstah
21-06-2008, 17:23
So how are ranks counted when a mounted character is in an infantry unit?


Nobody knows because it isn't covered in the rules.

Most people seem to play them counting in both ranks.
Some people play both ranks but at the same time wont count wide models in more than one file.
Some people don't count them in anything but the first rank.

All of the above "could" be the correct way, nobody knows.

DeathlessDraich
21-06-2008, 20:35
So how are ranks counted when a mounted character is in an infantry unit?
For example:

XXXO
XXXO
XXXX

where

X is an infantry model
and
O
O Is a Cavalry sized base. Would that unit consist of 2 or 3 ranks?

For the purposes of CR, it has 0 ranks

Loopstah
21-06-2008, 21:00
For the purposes of CR, it has 0 ranks

Because it only has 4 models per rank and you need 5 models per rank to get a rank bonus.

Condottiere
22-06-2008, 00:53
So how are ranks counted when a mounted character is in an infantry unit?
For example:

XXXO
XXXO
XXXX

where

X is an infantry model
and
O
O Is a Cavalry sized base. Would that unit consist of 2 or 3 ranks?


Funny, I thought this was covered already. Technically, it's 2 ranks, as each model counts as one for each rank. As a house rule, you could make it 3 ranks. There are some weird diagrams in another thread demonstrating this. Look it up. ;)


For the purposes of CR, it has 0 ranks


Because it only has 4 models per rank and you need 5 models per rank to get a rank bonus.Mea culpa - I was somehow under the impression there were five letters in each line.:angel: