PDA

View Full Version : Tips for Beasts of Chaos

WhiteKnight
20-06-2008, 03:37
I'm a vet to WHFB and I'm switching gears from High Elves to Beasts of Chaos. I've read through the army book and I like the Ambush and Raiders rules. I will most likely run a lot of Beast Herds to get the effectiveness of raiders and ambush. I also like Bestigors and what I learned from a friend at my local GW store is that you want Bestigors in a big unit because only one unit of them can get a mark of chaos. I want to either run an all Tzeentch list or a mix between Khorne and Tzeentch to get a mix of combat and magic. I really need tips because I'm new to Chaos armies.

Herod
20-06-2008, 04:57
All the tips you could want: http://www.freewebs.com/herdstone/

My advice - pick up some Minotaurs + Chariots, one unit of Bestigors is enough (Khorne is best IMO), and personally I think a mix of Khorne and Tzeentch will be more competitive.

H

neXus6
20-06-2008, 04:59
Hmm...to be honest while herdstone has a lot of good things, they have a lot I totally disagree with.

For example some of their views on Herd sizes and their total hatred of Chaos Ogres, even if you DONT use the awful models.

It is a good place to get a starting idea though, just don't take it ALL word for word. :p

starlight
20-06-2008, 05:05
One day I'll finally get around to my 3000pts of Minotaurs, but I have so many projects in line, I'm going to need to win the lottery to have enough time. :p

WhiteKnight
20-06-2008, 05:10
With the website not updated with the fact you can't put daemons in your armies anymore, I only read a few things on Herdstone.

TheWarSmith
20-06-2008, 05:42
Herd sizes are SOOOO subjective to the person playing.

Personally, I love the 12 gor and 8 ungor that comes in a box, but some use smaller units as shields and distractions.

You'll definitely need something very hard hitting. I'd suggest dragon ogres.

The Red Scourge
20-06-2008, 06:21