PDA

View Full Version : O&G help against dwarves

Frogczar
25-06-2008, 17:05
Hey O&G players,

I'm fairly new to the game and I've painted a little over 1000 points of O&G, and enjoying the army.

I've joined a Mighty Empires campaign and twice now I've gotten stomped by a dwarven opponent with lots of warmachines.

The second time I went right for one them with my chariot and sadly, that was the only unit of his that I killed the whole game :(

He brought a cannon, an organ gun and a hellfire? cannon (he had the "elite army" option). The Organ Gun tore me up and his cannon killed most of my big block of Orc boys with two choppas even before I ever got to him. I missed with my Spear Chukkas almost the entire game! It was a lopsided game for dice luck to be sure.

Besides all of those things, what suggestions do you have for when I play against him in the future? Sound units? Strategies?

Thanks,

Frog

mav1971
25-06-2008, 19:11
I don't know why, but my goblin bolt throwers have a hard time hitting anything even if I have a 3+ to hit. So I rarely ever take them.

You could always try a unit of night gobbos with fanantics. Or what I really like is a unit of squig hoppers. 2 strength 5 attacks and immune to panic. I sometimes take a unit of 3 river trolls and keep them within 12" of my general.

Shimmergloom
25-06-2008, 19:33
When the dwarf book came out there was an initial rush in my group of multiple new dwarf armies which made up for the fact that the two dwarf players in my area had moved away.

So for quite a while during the end of 6th and until recently I played tons of games vs various dwarf players with all sorts of lists.

Thorek lists, regular anvil lists, block infantry lists, even lists that were designed to be more medievel hopplite kind of lists, with heavy cav, 2 or 3 units of 10 clansdwarf bait units and hammerer/clan blocks with very little shooting.