PDA

View Full Version : Dispelling Glean Magic



Malagant
27-06-2008, 03:51
If I successfully cast Glean Magic, my opponent fails to dispel it, does he then have a second opportunity to dispel the spell "gleaned" from him?

i.e. are there two chances to dispel? The first on the Glean Magic roll to cast, the second on the basic casting value of the spell stolen?

sulla
27-06-2008, 08:20
Yes, correct. You have a second chance to dispel. So, generally speaking, it makes sense to 'glean' only spells which are very difficult to dispel unless the opponent has no dice left.

OldMaster
27-06-2008, 11:42
Or you can use it to quickly drain your opponent of his dice ;)

Malcador
27-06-2008, 11:47
Excuse me, but what is "Glean magic" ? Is it something from the new dark elf book?

theunwantedbeing
27-06-2008, 11:49
Tzeentch daemons spell.
You cast it, and then are allowed to cast a second spell with it, which can also be dispelled and such.

You can potentially waste a lot of your opponent's dice with this spell.

giner
27-06-2008, 12:04
It can get really fun when 2 or more casters have it. So you have them gleaning Glean Magic off each other to cast spells twice from the LOS of the first caster.

Loopstah
27-06-2008, 12:06
It can get really fun when 2 or more casters have it. So you have them gleaning Glean Magic off each other to cast spells twice from the LOS of the first caster.

You can only cast Glean Magic on enemy wizards.

Malagant
28-06-2008, 04:44
Thank you, guys!

fubukii
28-06-2008, 04:49
I think he meant if you cast glean magic on a tzeentch mage with glean magic, to result in a infinite chain of gleaning!

T10
28-06-2008, 08:42
Yeah. Wouldn't that be fun. :rolleyes:

-T10

Reinnon
28-06-2008, 09:34
a bit silly as its a waste of a spell

Shamfrit
28-06-2008, 09:37
Perfectly legal loop, but it's considered stalling and thus becomes illegal in tournaments :p

theunwantedbeing
28-06-2008, 11:13
One way of trying to drain your opponent of dice though.
Eventually they'll get fed up of the endless to and fro of gleaning and will try to prevent it, get a bit lucky and they'll waste a whole heap of dice.

I expect taking the blue scribes would put a stop to such silliness rather quickly though.

T10
28-06-2008, 11:54
Perfectly legal loop, but it's considered stalling and thus becomes illegal in tournaments :p

Yeah, great stalling.

Player A: I cast Glean Magic on your Herald. I elect to cast his Glean Magic on your Herald, repeating this to infinity! Muahaha! The fabric of space-time is unraveled!

Player B: Well, that was quick. Shall we proceed to the shooting phase?

Player A: Ok.

-T10

GranFarfar
28-06-2008, 12:10
A side note. Can you single out characters in units with glean magic?

theunwantedbeing
28-06-2008, 14:43
If that single character is a wizard, yes.

Nurgling Chieftain
28-06-2008, 20:37
While there's no particular reason why you couldn't glean a glean, it still gets cast by your own caster, so you can't ever glean one of your own spells. This makes the whole exercise pointless, IMO.

GranFarfar
29-06-2008, 12:12
If that single character is a wizard, yes.

The reason I ask is that it is never clearly stated that you can disregard the normal target restrictions, which is mentiond in the BRB as a requirment.

That aside, I personally belive that the intention is that you are able to single out characters.

Loopstah
29-06-2008, 12:31
The reason I ask is that it is never clearly stated that you can disregard the normal target restrictions, which is mentiond in the BRB as a requirment.

That aside, I personally belive that the intention is that you are able to single out characters.

Well the only restrictions are:

Target is a Wizard
Target is in LOS.

GranFarfar
29-06-2008, 12:56
Well the only restrictions are:

Target is a Wizard
Target is in LOS.

Just saying, it is never clearly stated that you ignore other restrictions.