PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinders in 5th? the new harlies?

Kildash
02-07-2008, 08:47
Hey, I was just thinking about fifth edition, and noticed something:

a pathfinder unit causes any to hit roll of 5 or 6 to be AP 1, and any to wound roll of 6 ALSO causes AP 1 (due to snipers being rending)... so, with 10 Pathfinders, you would statistically cause like... i dunno 5 AP 1 wounds?

I'm not good at mathhammer, but I rolled 10 dice a few times, and each time i had between 4 and 8 AP 1 shots that had wounded... ouch...

so: the question becomes: will pathfinders be the new uberunit in 5th edition, somewhat like the harlequins were in 4th... they are also less expensive.... 240 points for 10 pathfinders (that have a 2+ cover save) is a lot less than 6 harlequins in a tooled out falcon. ow, not to mention that they are pinning, and usually the unit should be under half strength after you are done with it, which hightens the chances of pinning.

what do you guys think?

lain2k3
02-07-2008, 08:51
cover saves will be abundant in 5th, reducing their effectiveness some.
They also hit on BS now, reducing their hits by a bit.
And there is no LD modifier for below half anymore, so pinning is actually harder to pull off.

However, catch a squad of marines in the open, Doom, Guide, and it's over.

Kildash
02-07-2008, 08:57
Hmm, i didn't know about the BS and the leadership thing, but if you stick a unit of 10 pathfinders and a seer on an objective, the enemy might as well stop attacking, even more if you stick a nice unit of, say, striking scorpions or harlequins behind em as countercharge...

Redskull
02-07-2008, 09:30
Yeh that BS is going to do great when 2-3 mobs of boyz (two mobs are still cheaper then the Pathfiders, let alone when you have a Farseer and a unit of counterchargers sitting there) roll up and punk them easy, shooting is not the whole game...

Kildash
02-07-2008, 09:38