PDA

View Full Version : Can vampires cast spells while they are in combat?



Kalist
05-07-2008, 04:54
We've always played that they can cast Invokation of Nehek while they are in combat but I can't find where it says we are allowed to do that. Where does it say in the book that this is legal, or have I been unwittedly cheating?

Thanks!

Dalamyr the Fleetmaster
05-07-2008, 05:17
it says a unit within 18" so yes you can cast in combat. it's pig annoying too!

Lord Aries
05-07-2008, 05:18
ANY wizard can cast spells while engaged in close combat, with a few restrictions.


While in CC, they cannot draw LOS
You cannot cast a spell INTO close combat unless it specifies that you may
While in CC they cannot cast Magic Missiles, because they have no LOS to anything, and they can't cast at the unit they are engaged with.


IoN was covered in the FAQ to make sure and mention that you MAY cast it into CC.

Kalist
05-07-2008, 05:27
Thank you very much.

Condottiere
05-07-2008, 07:23
ANY wizard can cast spells while engaged in close combat, with a few restrictions. While in CC, they cannot draw LOS
You cannot cast a spell INTO close combat unless it specifies that you may
While in CC they cannot cast Magic Missiles, because they have no LOS to anything, and they can't cast at the unit they are engaged with.Magic missile cannot be cast in CC because it is specifically prohibited in the BRB.

LOS spells might be able to be cast, if the caster (in CC) is positioned to see his target.

Lady's Champion
05-07-2008, 15:17
Can vampires do magic if they wear armour?

DragonPup
05-07-2008, 15:26
Yes, they can. There is no longer a rule that prohibits casting while wearing armor. It's just that nearly no caster have the option to take armor.

siphon101
05-07-2008, 21:05
1) There is NO rule in the BRB that says magic can not be cast while you are engaged in combat. The rules say magic missles can not be cast if you are in combat, and a Line of Sight spell can not be cast if you are in combat if as a result of being in combat you do not have line of sight to the target. The rules do say that a spell can not be cast on a unit IN combat unless it specifically says you can. The vampire counts FAQ states that IoN can be cast on a unit in combat. So IoN can be cast on a wizard in combat as the only spells that can not be cast while you are in combat are magic missles and LoS spells. IoN is neither a magic missle nor does it require LoS. It can likewise be cast on a unit IN combat as the FAQ specifically states it does

2) vampires wearing armor can cast spells as there is no rule in the rulebook that says wizards wearing armor can't cast spells.