PDA

View Full Version : Considering starting

Cal585
19-08-2008, 08:50
Hey all, I'm new to Blood Bowl, but I'm thinking of starting because it sounds really fun and a change of pace from the other war games.

What do i need to start? I've had a quick look at the downloadable rules and stuff, and it would seem that one needs various templates and special dice. Am I right in thinking that the only way one can get this is by buying the old boxed set from GW (rediculously expensive for me in Australia) or by eventually finding something on eBay?

And is there any post that has different pros and cons for teams? I like the idea of the more agile teams, and being a "goody" player, I'm thinking about Lizardmen (though it seems everyone likes them :rolleyes:) or Wood Elves, though I hate the Wood Elf BB models. Has anyone successfully converted some from the Fantasy range (which are brilliant)? My second 2 choices would be High Elves or Humans...

Cirrus the Blue
19-08-2008, 15:50
I'd actually start off with the Pro Elves due to the fact of their well-roundedness overall being very similar to the same positions found on a Human team minus the Big Guy and higher Agility factor and a couple of better stats, skills, etc. Those are pretty decent looking figures I think, but of course this is due to the fact that they're a very recent team addition to the game. Humans are my choice though as they are indeed the most well-rounded team in the game. They're not really 'great' at anything, but they're by no means bad at anything, either (in League play, Humans can become deadly powerful). Also the fact they've got a freaking OGRE to punch things on the front line works great, too. :D