PDA

View Full Version : Mounted Halberd



Poseidal
23-08-2008, 07:25
According to my Empire army book, a Captain may take a Halberd.

He may also take a mount.

Does he get the bonus for using the weapon? The rulebook does not give a separate entry for Infantry and Mounted unlike Great Weapons and Spears.

Windings of a snake
23-08-2008, 07:27
It does give you the bonus even if mounted.

Just like anything it is better than a great weapon when mounted.

Braad
23-08-2008, 12:33
As example, chaos chariot crew (at least in the last book) have halberds as their standard equipment. Would be a bit pointless if it didn't have any effect.

To give some rules background... If you check the weapons section on page 56 of the BRB, you can read for several weapons that they have, in brackets, words like "infantry" or "mounted" and in the case of lances "mounted only" to describe specific rules if the character is either on foot or mounted. The halberd, and also flails and morning stars, don't have anything like that included so the bonus is both for models on foot and mounted.