PDA

View Full Version : Tips and tricks, how do you do them?

Roxx
24-08-2008, 22:17
Im pretty new to the warhammer fantasy game, and I have been reading the forum for a while and there are some terms that people tend to use that I dont understand.

1. I have read that people are talking about how to use the champion model in units to do some "evil" trix. Whats the secret about this guy. When im using him he is just another attack in the front row, it seems like I have missed something here.

2. I have heard that people are using units as "redirects". I play VC myself and Im wondering what this might be. How do you use units to redirect, and why do you want to do that?

3. This is a more VC specific question. I have seen that alot of people are using a battle standard bearer. Is i really worth it in a VC list. When I lose a combat by 2 I lose 1 zombie instead of 2, is it worth 25p?

Cheers.

Gokamok
24-08-2008, 22:32
@ 1) Unit champions can issue challenges just like characters, and can thereby prevent enemy chararacters from inflicting too much damage on your unit. That's the only "trick" they have iirc.

@ 2) "Redirecting" basically means that you put a (usually) cheap unit between an opponent's unit and their intended target, often at an angle. Thereby the enemy unit is forced to charge the redirecting unit and will often end up in a bad position.

@ 3) Yes, the BSB is definitely worth it for VC. Many of your units are likely to lose combats for several turns until you can get a supporting charge into the fight, so the 25 points are usually well spent.

monstallion
24-08-2008, 22:35
Also a BSB gets access to the expensive magical banners and for VC these are really nice. The Drakenhof banner along with the banner of blood keep in a unit of blood knights works really well:eek:

Stinkfoot
24-08-2008, 22:38