PDA

View Full Version : Contradicting rules



pililuk
26-08-2008, 00:41
What happens if an item says always hit the bearer on 6's goes against a flaming sword rhun which states always hits on 2's?

Dark_Mage99
26-08-2008, 01:13
The Flaming Sword doesn't always hit on 2's, it just hit's on 2's as a base: modifiers can still modify it.

The Vampire Count FAQ (or is it the Wood Elf?) tells us that even a Dreadlance, which hits automatically, will sometimes still need 6's to hit someone with the Annoyance of Netlings. In the case of the Lance, players are suggested to roll off for it.

In this case, if you are talking about the Annoyance, I would say a Flaming Sword still need's 6's to hit since the Annoyance tells us the wearer is only ever hit on 6's; and, as I mentioned, the Sword doesn't only ever hit on 2's, it just hit's on 2's as a base.

Lord Aries
26-08-2008, 04:26
Yeah... some times rules contradict. In your case, they don't really contradict, but still... flaming sword hits on a 6+ in that case...

If rules contradict, roll off.

Tarax
27-08-2008, 08:31
Lord Aries is right. Read the rules for magic items carefully, there usually is something more explanatory.

Otherwise: roll off.

Gazak Blacktoof
27-08-2008, 09:18
The Vampire Count FAQ (or is it the Wood Elf?) tells us that even a Dreadlance, which hits automatically, will sometimes still need 6's to hit someone with the Annoyance of Netlings. In the case of the Lance, players are suggested to roll off for it.

Which was totally bogus answer.

++++++++

In the event of two directly contradictory rules, roll a dice each time it happens to decide which effect takes precedence.