PDA

View Full Version : Fell Bats???



The Red Scourge
01-09-2008, 08:32
Just had a discussion this weekend about fell bats.

We ended up with the following interpretation:

They're fliers = US1

They're mansized skirmishers = there is a -1 to hit penalty on them with shooting.

Any other takes on this, or did we get it right?

Benigno (WE)
01-09-2008, 09:03
I think you are right, if I don't miss any special rule.

The Red Scourge
01-09-2008, 11:27
Great!

We had some doubts about it, so nice to have it confirmed that we were on the right track : )

Dark_Mage99
01-09-2008, 12:06
Yep, you got it right.

Bob the Butcher
25-09-2008, 20:40
One thing about Bats is if you raise more of them (Invocation of Naheck) you get the normal 1d6 worth back rather than just 1 wound.

Spirit
27-09-2008, 01:44
One thing about Bats is if you raise more of them (Invocation of Naheck) you get the normal 1d6 worth back rather than just 1 wound.

Yea, its great, 3 bats (on AVERAGE with one casting of 3+ invocation) behind the enemy line that they are ignoring, suddenly become 5 bats that cause instant death on any unit running through them.

Brilliant.

Magx
27-09-2008, 18:04
aren't they US 2 ? they have two wounds... I thought the number of wounds determinted the US... maybe I'm mistaken on this tough

Shamfrit
27-09-2008, 18:09
No, US is determined by rules and bases up until the point where the base size is larger than an Ogre Base, in which case it becomes Wounds=US. Such as chariots, Wyverns/Dragons and the like.

In this instance, Fell Bats are US1 as has been pointed out.

Griefbringer
28-09-2008, 09:51
No, US is determined by rules and bases up until the point where the base size is larger than an Ogre Base, in which case it becomes Wounds=US. Such as chariots, Wyverns/Dragons and the like.


Ahem, chariots have a fixed US of 4 (5 if ridden by character).

The US = Wounds formula applies only to monsters (regardless of base size).

theunwantedbeing
28-09-2008, 10:35
So you get D6 bats back?
Rather than D6 wounds worth of bats?

Edge
28-09-2008, 11:51
They are us 1

but Invocation of nehek can not raise you another unit of bats, and it will give you 1d6 wounds back not 1d6 units.

Also i think that they are a "non-infantiry unit" so they will only ever regain a single wound per model.

Atrahasis
28-09-2008, 12:23
You think incorrectly I'm afraid. Fell Bats are infantry both by the rulebook and expressly in the VC book.

Shamfrit
28-09-2008, 12:40
My apologies Griefbringer, you're correct.

VC Doke
28-09-2008, 15:36
Fell bats are a FLYING UNIT. Their base size does not matter. That are US 1 unless specified otherwise. Like the bat swarms would be US 1, but the have the Cloud of Horror rule which makes them each US 4.

By all of your logic bat swarms would have US 4! That doesn't make sense when the fly and are 35 points a model.

Again, unless specified otherwise in the army's codex: Flying units are US 1. Look in the rulebook before declaring that the base size is the only determinate for wounds.

Spirit
28-09-2008, 21:17
So you get D6 bats back?
Rather than D6 wounds worth of bats?

No you get d6 wounds back, but you only need 3 wounds to take the unit to us5! (2 bats) if you have the vamp ability.

theunwantedbeing
28-09-2008, 21:26
Flying unit's are skirmishers so never negate ranks.

EvC
28-09-2008, 23:10
His point, as mentioned above, is about them being able to kill enemy units that flee into them with just two models :)

theunwantedbeing
28-09-2008, 23:17
Oh yeah..forgot they can also do that.

BattleofLund
28-09-2008, 23:52
They're mansized skirmishers = there is a -1 to hit penalty on them with shooting.

Any other takes on this, or did we get it right?

Are they mansized, though? Don't they come on 40mm bases?

theunwantedbeing
28-09-2008, 23:57
Us1 is what counts, not the base size.
Us1 skirmishers are -1 to hit.

Mansized is technically anything us2 or less.(seeing as mansized used to be the definition for what could be killing blowed)

Gorbad Ironclaw
29-09-2008, 09:08
Are they mansized, though? Don't they come on 40mm bases?

Doesn't matter. The whole 'mansized' thing no longer is part of the rules. If your US 1 and a skirmisher your -1 to hit.