PDA

View Full Version : Help Me "Bone Up" on Tomb Kings (2000pt)

MadDogMike
02-09-2008, 18:04
Well, I am finally trying to slip a little more into Fantasy from 40K, and I decided Tomb Kings looked like a rather neat army to play with. However, seeing as how I'm new to TK and Fantasy in general, figured I'd ask for some help coming up with a list to buy towards. Here so far is my first tentative attempt:

1 Tomb Prince @ 184 Pts
General; Light Armour; Shield
1 Spear of Antarhak
EDIT: Doh! Can't believe I accidently deleted the fact he was in a chariot! *bonks head*

6 Chariots @ 290 Pts
Full Command Squad

1 Liche High Priest @ 340 Pts
Hierophant
1 Neferra's Plaques of Mighty Incantations
1 Goldon Ankhra
1 Cloak of the Dunes

1 Liche Priest @ 148 Pts
1 Skeletal Steed
1 Brooch of the Great Desert (if you're paying the same points anyway, why not have the more evocatively named Dispel Scroll? ;))

1 Liche Priest @ 280 Pts
Casket of Souls

1 Screaming Skull Catapult @ 110 Pts
Skulls of the Foe

22 Skeleton Warriors @ 245 Pts
Full Command, Spear & Shield; Light Armour

18 Skeleton Warriors @ 159 Pts
Musician, Standard Bearer

1 Tomb Scorpion @ 85 Pts

I'm aiming for a magic-heavy shooty army as described in the army book (with an eye towards throwing Khalida in at higher point values). I shoot the hell out of the enemy and hope quantity does the trick. The priests primarily assist that (the priest on the Casket will keep the Skull Catapult double-shooting, the others are mobile enough to go wherever else needed) and raise casualties as needed. When the enemy approaches, the group with spears/shields/armor ideally intercepts them and acts as a fairly strong anvil while either one of the archer blocks or my chariots flanks/rear attacks (both if possible naturally). Tomb Scorpion in there for war machine or character assassination, I'm expecting it'll die a lot though.