PDA

View Full Version : rank bonuses?

hendybadger
07-09-2008, 10:13
i am new to fantasy and i am abit confused about rank bonuses.

do the ranks have to be 5 models wide or 5 unit strength wide?

for example. 20 skeletons. 4 ranks of 5 get + 3 bonus.
a chariot is unit strength 4 so can you have 8 chariots in 4 ranks 2 wide each and still get the bonus?
or 3 ogres per rank ? being US 2 each?

hope someone can help clear this up

Atrahasis
07-09-2008, 10:48
5 models, not US5.

Note also that all the chariots that can rank up are US3, as are Ogres.

TheWarSmith
07-09-2008, 15:53
Atrahasis is correct.

The only chariots that CAN rank up, are Tomb Kings, and they're classified as "light chariots", meaning they are US3 and only do d3 impact hits, can take ranks, and command.

Lord Dan
07-09-2008, 22:14
I'd like to third the statements which have been already given.

Also note that some units will not receive rank bonuses even if they are 5 models wide to a rank, such as:

Skirmishers
Flyers
Fast Cavalry

Of course there are exceptions to this, all listed in the individual unit entries in their respective army books.

TheWarSmith
08-09-2008, 23:42
And, as an exception to the skirmishers rule, beast herds may get only +2, IF they're able to rank 5 wide.

Shmee
09-09-2008, 19:20
Since my account is new and i cant post new thread yet, ima ask this question here.
Does items/gifts like Slime Trail only prevents your opponent from receiving a +1 combat resolution or does it also allows you to keep your own rank bonuses as well.

T10
10-09-2008, 07:16
You are still allowed to negate the rank bonus. Negating the enemy unit's rank bonus is one benefit of engaging them in the flank or rear, the +1/+2 combat resolution bonus is a separate benefit.

Valaraukar
10-09-2008, 07:54
How about the Varghulf I don't have the book so not sure how that rule about no flank/rear etc. is worded?

TheDarkDaff
10-09-2008, 08:03