PDA

View Full Version : Failed charge with wheel.



sds661
08-09-2008, 07:45
If a charge is declared which would involve a wheel (say) halfway through the move, but then the target flees out of range and the charge fails, along what path does the charger move: the intended path, or the direct path to the target?

Situation: Chariot can see enemy, but direct line is across difficult ground, hence choses to wheel midway through charge. When enemy flee, is chariot forced to move directly towards them, hence through difficult ground?

DeathlessDraich
08-09-2008, 08:42
The direction required by the rules is "directly towards" the fleer.

The diagrams in the Movement chapter and FAQ shows this to be identical to the fleeing line.

The fleeing line is drawn from the centre of the (flee) causer to the centre of the fleeing unit.

Tarax
08-09-2008, 12:29
If a unit flees from a charge it is done before the charging unit makes its move. So the situation you described could not have happened.

However, if a unit flees then it is as DeathlessDraich said.

sds661
08-09-2008, 13:01
... the situation you described could not have happened....

It did happen!

Yes the chariot had not moved, but it intended to avoid the difficult ground by making a wheel midway through its charge. Once the target unit fled, it was then a failed charge which (I agree) by a strict reading of the rules must be directly towards the enemy, hence across the difficult ground.

Seems a bit harsh on the chariot, that's all.

Atrahasis
08-09-2008, 13:19
Chariots don't wheel.

sds661
08-09-2008, 13:56
Chariots don't wheel.

You never fail to disappoint, Atra, even after all this time.

Yes, technically they "pivot" not "wheel", but with this semantics out of the way, I take it that you agree with the general thrust of the discussion?

T10
08-09-2008, 14:27
If you can reach your target you are pretty much free to move as you like, but if you can't reach the target you need to move directly towards it.

This can lead to some rare and strange situations...

Let's assume you have a 14" charge range for your chariot. You decide to move around some difficult terrain in order to avoid damage, but you find that this distance is 15". You fail and head into difficult terrain, only to learn that the target unit was only 6" away (when count each inch of difficult terrain as two inches). The chariot takes damage for difficult terrain and stops 1" short of the target unit.

Warhammer: the game of champions.

-T10

FigureFour
08-09-2008, 14:57
If you can reach your target you are pretty much free to move as you like, but if you can't reach the target you need to move directly towards it.

This can lead to some rare and strange situations...

Let's assume you have a 14" charge range for your chariot. You decide to move around some difficult terrain in order to avoid damage, but you find that this distance is 15". You fail and head into difficult terrain, only to learn that the target unit was only 6" away (when count each inch of difficult terrain as two inches). The chariot takes damage for difficult terrain and stops 1" short of the target unit.

Warhammer: the game of champions.

-T10

I don't think that's how it actually works. You measure the charge range around the difficult terrain, find out it's too far. However, that's not a failed charge. If there's a different way that would result in a successfull charge (through the difficult terrain in this case) then you are obligated to finish your charge that way.

Just because your first measurement is off doesn't mean you failed the charge. If you declare a charge and there's multiple routes to get there, you measure ALL of them and then choose one of the successfull ones as your move.

Condottiere
08-09-2008, 20:37
Diagram! or it didn't happen. ;)