View Full Version : orc question

14-09-2008, 06:55
Hi I played against a orc army recently and it was 2000 points, he had a

orc lord

goblin shaman

goblin shaman

orc hero in a chariot

battle standard bearer

and a black orc hero

for a total of 6 characters

is that legal? I dont own a orc book but it seems a bit high to me, I may have to purchase one in the neer future. thx.

14-09-2008, 06:58
No, not legal. Orcs are limited to the normal 4 characters, of which one may be a lord, for 2000 points.

14-09-2008, 15:30
Must be another one of those Orc WAAC players...

14-09-2008, 19:13
the only army i know of that kan have more then 4 characters i a 2000p army is high elfs. it is sad when it happens, when a player must cheat in order to win insted of doing a good army and having a good game plan


17-09-2008, 05:32
HE dont get more than the max characters

the new DE get tons of characters at 2000pts as assasins, and the special champions for BG and executions dont count toward character choices.

17-09-2008, 09:35
You sure the BlOrc hero was a Hero, and not a unit Boss?

The way I can see this working:

1) BlOrc was a Boss

2) The 2 Goblin shamans taken as 1 choice, confusing with the old rules for taking Goblin Big Boss'

3) That leaves 3 characters (and the 1 for the 2 Gobbos).

Yes, that's illegal now, but it might have been he was using the old book/confusing rules/simply cheating.

17-09-2008, 09:50
And would have been illegal back then too. You didn't take two shamans for one slot or whatever sillyness, it's just that if you took only gob characters you were allowed a free (whom took no hero slot I mean) gob big boss, and that's it.

17-09-2008, 10:01
Before 2000, back in 5th edition, it would have been legal (and not that uncommon either).

17-09-2008, 12:11
Yeah, in 5th edition, but that's looking a bit far to justify this "error" :p

Col. Dash
17-09-2008, 13:16
Illegal list. Just a note though, bretts get 5 chars as they are forced to have a bsb and a general.

Zot Zot
18-09-2008, 02:33
What part of up to 4 characters (one of which can be a Lord level) at 2000 points did you opponent not understand?

Apart from the extra BSB the Bret's get, I think that's pretty much universal (except for the Dark Elvish Assassins which no longer count against your character totals. Wonder if Skaven will be shown the same consideration...? :D

18-09-2008, 06:30
Maybe he read "up to four characters, up to four heroes and up to one lord" and thought he had a max of nine characters available. :D

18-09-2008, 08:48
the only army to have extra char slots are bretts and one has to be a bsb