PDA

View Full Version : Must Takes

kloudfire
06-10-2008, 01:17
I'm rather new to VC and I was wondering if there are any MUSTS... I understand there are often debates about what is good but often there are some no brainers :)... I play in a very competitive envirment and I need to catch up with the curve... I will have a spearhead to start... but what do I need to pick up or avoid like the plague...

T10
06-10-2008, 01:38
You must take Core choices and a Vampire character to be your General.

-T10

kloudfire
06-10-2008, 02:20
Haha, I don't mean that...I mean like with liazrdmen, if you dont take a unit of salamanders then why are you playing lizardmen?

Are skellies thought to be better then zombie? or go with ghouls?

theunwantedbeing
06-10-2008, 02:22
There arent any must haves for VC.
You can generally pick anything you like.

Although I would advise not taking more than 2 character's that can actually cast.
VC armies that consist of over half the point's in character's are aweful at winning games or being any fun to face at all.
You either get lucky and pass your saves and win, or you don't get luck and your opponent easily beats the snot out of your tiny little VC army.

Taking a good mix of troops and several big blocks of infantry is generally the best way to go about making a VC army that is both fun and interesting to play as and play against.
I've played against the "tiny little VC army" loads of times and have lost only once due to terribly bad luck on my part, and unfairly good luck on the part of my opponent, and this is with the 6th edition dark elves (possibly the worst army in the game at the time).
However when facing an actual VC hoarde army the games have always been close and very interesting.

When I got to use a VC army I took a large hoarde and it did fantastically well and I and my opponent had a brilliant game.