PDA

View Full Version : Do Space Marines go rogue without falling to Chaos?

Axius
10-10-2008, 23:23
The title pretty much sums it up... I'm sure there's probably fluff out there to either dispute or back it up, but I'm still very new to this hobby. And I haven't really had a chance to read many of the books, or codices for information.

I was thinking about helping a friend of mine build up his space marines, and as he isn't a big fan or the Imperium, yet isn't tempted by Chaos...he and I were both wondering if it were plausible for marines to go renegade, without devoting themselves/falling to Chaos?

Kind of thinking along the lines of what might have happened with the 11th and 2nd chapters...

Overt_Spy
10-10-2008, 23:39
Yep, Marines can break away from Imperial edict to pursue their own goals.

mukelnas
10-10-2008, 23:48
If I remember correctly most chapters don't actualy consider themselves part of the imperium.

a long time ago (2nd ed I think) Huron Blackheart and the red corsairs wern't actualy chaos. They were renagade marines who kept their original chapter colors, and painted red X's over all the imperial icons. At least I think that's how it was I can't find my old codex.

And what about the fallen dark angels, I don't know anyone who plays DA, are they chaos.

Axius
10-10-2008, 23:54
Yep, Marines can break away from Imperial edict to pursue their own goals.

Good, good. His idea was to use a company from the Salamanders that broke off to pursue other interests, and have recently allied themselves with a small Eldar corsair fleet in staving off a Necron and Tyranid invasion. They were told to stay put by Vulkan and the Sallies, as the inquisition had requested their aid. But they weren't having any of it, and left anyhow. Thus becoming renegade.

Here'sa couple of paint scheme ideas; Green from the Sallies, but black to show the renegade/rebellion. Or a couple of variants if he used Templars.

Kyrolon
11-10-2008, 00:07