PDA

View Full Version : Just suffered my worst defeat EVER

GrandReaper
21-10-2008, 16:27
Hey all. I started playing Chaos many moons (and two codexes) ago. I've always been one of the big dogs around where I play and very rarely lose (not a boast, just setting the tone).

Well, last night was my third game with my 'Zilla nids with Flyrant, Hive Tyrant w/ 2 guards, elite fex with devourers, elite fex with scything talons, heavy fex with strangler and venom cannon, heavy fex with crushing claws and strangler, zoanthrope with synapse and warpblast and 82 Termagaunts.

Since we were playing 1750 and I only had 1500 I gave all my Termagaunts toxin sacs. Well, we rolled a Dawn of War (which I think my list will struggle with) Annihilation (which I think my list will struggle with) game. I deployed first with my walking tyrant and two termagaunt squads. He deployed nothing. My first turn I move up to put pressure on him. His first turn, on storms Lysander and 5 Thunder Hammer Termies in a Crusader, right into my Hive Tyrant. 2 Tac squads in rhinos jump out and rapid fire the gaunts. End of turn one, my Hive Tyrant and guards are all dead for the loss of no terminators and all my guants except one have been rapid fired to death. It went downhill from there.

It ended with him annihilating my army and winning with 12 KP and me only scoring 2 (but I dragged down Lysander with gaunts!). He was more maimed than expected, with a weaponless vindi, an immobilized weaponless Landspeader, only one terminator left, and one tac squad with only one champ left (who had killed to Carnies singlehandedly, doing three wounds in one turn with only two attacks thanks to "No Retreat").

This isn't a whine, it was a fun game. Still feeling out the Nids. I think if the deployment OR the mission was different I would have been better off. I hope you enjoyed reading this if you got this far.

Cheers!

Firstborn
21-10-2008, 16:33