PDA

View Full Version : Dwarf dispell question



ahk3927
24-10-2008, 05:48
if a dwarf player had m.r. of Valaya and m.r. of spellbinding, does he get +3to his dispell attempt?

Thanks in advance.

Braad
24-10-2008, 06:28
If both say they provide +1 to dispel without additional rules, then yes. Dispel bonuses stack.

If the rules are different, I'll gladly let the stuntie players here answer that one.

Condottiere
24-10-2008, 06:57
I doubt I have ever seen my Dwarf opponent dispel with more than a +2 bonus, and he seems to have examined the book pretty thoroughly.

WLBjork
24-10-2008, 07:17
Both Master Runes stack for a +3 dispel.

(Braad, one is a +2 dispel item, one is a +1 dispel item)

Condottiere
24-10-2008, 07:31
Isn't there a rune that stacks magical resistance?

WLBjork
24-10-2008, 07:40
Sort of.

Well, 2 really, 1 for banners and the other for an item carried by a character.

Both confer Magic Resistance (1), with no other limits. Given that runes on the same item stack unless otherwise stated, I would therefore see, for example, a unit with a banner and 2 Runes of Sanctuary having MR (2).

However, as per the normal MR rules, the highest applies at any one time. Thus if the aforementioned unit also included a character with one Rune of Warding giving him MR (1), the MR used would be 2.

sneroplex
24-10-2008, 07:40
There's two, one is a runic standard (Rune of Sanctuary) and one is a runic talisman (Rune of Warding. Each one confers Magic Resistance (1), and each one can be taken up to three times. So if you have two heroes and one is the BSB with Rune of Sanctuary x3 and the other has Rune of Warding x3 and they're in the same unit, the unit has Magic Resistance (6).

Atrahasis
24-10-2008, 07:54
No, they'll have MR(3). They don't stack across items.

Gazak Blacktoof
24-10-2008, 10:56
Isn't MR (3) the limit anyway?

slasher
24-10-2008, 11:01
Nope - Louen Leoncouer, King of Bretonnia has MR (4)....

Condottiere
24-10-2008, 11:10
He's probably a very special case - I suspect only the High Elves can successfully cast a spell on him consistently.

Gazak Blacktoof
24-10-2008, 11:10
According to page 94, MR is 1-3. Louen must be an exception.

BEEGfrog
24-10-2008, 11:20
According to page 94, MR is 1-3. Louen must be an exception.

Specific rules overrule general ones so normal MR may be 1-3 but the MR4 is a special case. The MR4 also gives a significantly increased chance of auto failing the dispel due to multiple 1s!

Atrahasis
25-10-2008, 10:28
Not really, you don't have to use all the dice.

Condottiere
25-10-2008, 10:32
Though you could add to it from your pool - anyone ever been desperate enough to try six?