PDA

View Full Version : chaos mage and magic armour



Ji(v)
26-10-2008, 15:12
can a chaos mage use the enchanted shield ?

waiyuren
26-10-2008, 15:17
Only if he can use the mundane version.

So, no... Probably not.

dread lord
26-10-2008, 17:10
im gona go with emmm yes if you are uesing the new book see page 106

popisdead
29-10-2008, 04:01
Yes. clearly states "may take 50 pts of magical items". It does not say he cannot take magical armour like every other mage. Also it makes sense as he 'must' challenge.

Is there a rule about only being able to use magical items of mundane somewhere? I could be wrong about this then but the Army book entries have been pretty clean as of late so I am confident in my answer.

wizuriel
29-10-2008, 04:38
iirc you can only use magic equipment if you can use the mundane equipment. since magic shield is classified as armour though and the mage wears armour I would say you can take the shield

Porksta
29-10-2008, 04:45
As page 106 states, yes you may.

pfishy98
29-10-2008, 04:45
no wizards can never take magic armour (unless specifically stated) because "they interfere with the wizards magical abilities" says the rulebook. just like a HE lord cant take a power stone or any other arcane items. WoC might be different though, i dunno.

sulla
29-10-2008, 05:30
WoC might be different though, i dunno.

Why are you even guessing? Let the people with the book respond.

Nicha11
29-10-2008, 05:55
Yes i believe they can take the shield.

Lord Dan
29-10-2008, 06:34
Does anyone else find the fact that this is placed in the general discussion section, rather than the rules section, amusingly appropriate?

W0lf
29-10-2008, 11:35
yes as the book isnt out.

Yes a chaos sorcerer can take an enchanted hsield, it says so in in the book.
Another interesting fact is a BSB can be your general in the chaos book.

bork da basher
29-10-2008, 11:52
im looking at the book now and on page 106 it states and i quote "sorcerers are unusual in that they wear chaos armour and that they can use magic shields and magic armour just like other champions of chaos"

so yes they can without a shodow of doubt.

dread lord
29-10-2008, 12:08
iirc you can only use magic equipment if you can use the mundane equipment. since magic shield is classified as armour though and the mage wears armour I would say you can take the shield


for some reason im too lazy to find this can u point this out some were plz :)

logan054
29-10-2008, 12:27
iirc you can only use magic equipment if you can use the mundane equipment. since magic shield is classified as armour though and the mage wears armour I would say you can take the shield

I guess you missed the line in the magic item section of the rule book that states this dosnt apply if your army book states otherwise.

WLBjork
29-10-2008, 14:14
I find it more amusing that the exact same topic and title are in the Rules Section, here (http://warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=168575)