PDA

View Full Version : Forcing an Assasin to appear early, possible?



Vandur Last
27-10-2008, 17:55
So if youre Empire you can take the Crystal Ball to reveal what "secrets" a unit has, such as assasins. Now, when the Assasin is revealed does that mean he is placed on the table already?
Its sort of a big deal, what with the Empires ability to use Hochland "sniper" rifles and such.

narrativium
27-10-2008, 18:23
No. You know who's in the unit, but the sniper still can't tell him apart from the other guys.

Braad
27-10-2008, 18:29
Fanatics are also not released, for example. You just know they are there.

Atrahasis
27-10-2008, 18:40
Most of the time you don't WANT him to be placed.

He's a lot easier to kill with shooting and magic if he's masquerading as a rank and file model than if he's a character in a unit ;)

You can kill 10 warriors with one magic missile, but 10 warriors and an assassin takes at least 2.

Lord Dan
27-10-2008, 19:42
You can kill 10 warriors with one magic missile, but 10 warriors and an assassin takes at least 2.

What magic missile are you referring to? I can't think of any that could kill 10 warriors that wouldn't have a chance of killing the T3 2W no armor save assassin as well?

narrativium
27-10-2008, 20:06
Magic missile distributes hits as per shooting. You can't wound the assassin if he's revealed and there's at least five rank and file there. The first missile has to strip the unit to four rank and file, then he can be hurt.

theunwantedbeing
27-10-2008, 21:01
Amusingly, get him to fail a fear test when you charge. If he outnumbers you, his assasin needs 6's to hit you :P

Lord Dan
28-10-2008, 00:56
Magic missile distributes hits as per shooting. You can't wound the assassin if he's revealed and there's at least five rank and file there. The first missile has to strip the unit to four rank and file, then he can be hurt.

Ah, I keep forgetting he's treated as a character. It seems it would make more sense not to kill the unit to make the unit panic on their Ld 8, instead of wiping them out and having him take a panic test on his Ld10.

Kulgur
28-10-2008, 09:47
Can't use his leadership for the unit's checks (A Killer not a Leader rule)

Atrahasis
28-10-2008, 10:05
Ah, I keep forgetting he's treated as a character. It seems it would make more sense not to kill the unit to make the unit panic on their Ld 8, instead of wiping them out and having him take a panic test on his Ld10.
It makes more sense to wipe the unit out before he's revealed, when there's no chance of him ever appearing ;)

Braad
28-10-2008, 12:03
@ Kulgar
That's what he means. If you wipe out the entire unit, except the assassin, then he can use his own leadership, because there is no unit.

A few brain bursta's (2D6 S4) should do the trick...