PDA

View Full Version : My First WHFB Army (O&G 2250)

MrBill2u
31-10-2008, 17:35
I am brand new to WHFB. I plan on heading out to buy some models this weekend and I would like to have a 2250 army in mind before I head out and start dropping cash. If this list seems effective, I will likely buy a watered down version of it and build a 750-1K point variant of it to start with. The basic idea of this one is 3 decent "damage taking" blocks of orcs with trolls and boar boyz filling the gaps using spider riders to screen. The characters will start off in the orc blocks, but have the option of coming out and acting as solo hammers or joining the boar boyz for some extra punch. Squig hoppers and spider riders on the flanks for some chaos (the concept, not the army) out there and the option to head for the warmachines if I need to. Criticism welcome!!

Rare

120: 3 Trolls

Special

148: 5 Orc Boar Boyz, full command
150: 10 Squig Hoppers

Characters

177: Black Orc Warboss, heavy armor, shield, riding boar
132: Black Orc Big Boss, heavy armor, shield, bsb, riding boar
107: Black Orc Big Boss, heavy armor, shield, riding boar
100: Night Goblin Shaman, staff of sneaky stealin

Core

198: 28 Orc Boyz, shield, full command
76: 5 Forest Goblin spider riders, bows, musician

MrBill2u
31-10-2008, 18:39
BTW, I am not sold completely on greenskins. I liked the idea of cheap goblins for big blocks of damage sponginess, but when I do the math it seems like orc boyz are a better deal. The new chaos models seem drab to me, so the "play the latest updated list" doesn't work for me. Is O&G competitive? Can they run a mostly melee list with minimal magic and no shootiness, or do they really need the warmachines to be competitive? I played around with an 8 chukka, 2 doomdiver, 3 arrer boyz with goblin tarpit list... but it seemed to me that it would make for pretty boring play.

Turn 1: I shoot you!!
Turn 2: I shoot you again!!
Turn 3: I'm still shooting!!
etc..

happy_doctor