PDA

View Full Version : Tomb Kings chariot army?

Canadian_Khan
01-11-2008, 14:56
Well, the thread says it all...

Viable or not?

4 regiments of 4 chariots in a 2000pts army... is it too many? Maybe even 5X4...

With Light Cavalry for support... and big packs of skellies... tomb scorpions, swarms ( I love the "it came from below" idea ) and carrions.

I'm new with tomb kings, so any comment on that would be appreciated

Edit: Made the thread clearer.

theunwantedbeing
01-11-2008, 14:59
Perfectly viable.
The size of the units really depends on how wide your opponents units are.
You can get 4 chariots in base contact with a 100mm wide enemy, which is 5 20mm bases.
5 chariots needs your opponent to be 6 wide if they're on 25mm bases (fine for knights and such) but they need to be 8 wide if they have 20mm bases...which is unlikely.

4 is a decent limit to stick at.
Sounds like a good idea for an army.

Come to think of it
Tomb Kings Chariots are pretty aweful in 8th ed.

D3 impact hits is not a lot of damage
Stepup negates the useful advantage impact hits had last edition
Fight in ranks just exposes the weakness of a large base t4 5+ save model with ws2
Throw in stepup to largely guarantee your not going to break the enemy

A unit of 10+ flanking can disrupt, but the enemy will still be steadfast.
Sadly they don't get the monstrous ranks rule either,so you need that full 10 models to get a rank, rather than a more useful 3.

I prefer ushabti despite them being slower (and not core).
Simply as they hit that much harder and actually allow for winning combats and can really take the fight to enemies that your chariot's just can't go near (knights or hoardes).

march10k
01-11-2008, 15:09